DB- Valentino Cake and White Chocolate Matcha Ice Cream

img_0438

The February 2009 challenge is hosted by Wendy of WMPE’s blog and Dharm of Dad ~ Baker & Chef.
We have chosen a Chocolate Valentino cake by Chef Wan; a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Dharm and a Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from Wendy as the challenge.

The cake is flour-less and is essentially chocolate thinned by butter and given some body by eggs.   I sprinkled a few flakes of sea salt on the top of the cake before baking.

It is very dense.  I used a chocolate I like very much but the bitterness of the chocolate seemed intensified and it wasn’t to my families love.  The ice cream was really interesting and complex though.

pa210295

Our DB challenge this month was not just baking but making ice cream.  I saw this recipe for white chocolate and matcha ice cream at Jaden’s Steamy Kitchen and thought it is time for me to try the matcha powder I bought in Singapore back in July.  Now to show proper provinance here is where Jaden found the recipe.

I followed Jaden’s recipe but I made tweaks in method.

I heated my milk, sugar and cream in a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup in the micowave.  It made it easy to slowly temper the egg yolks.

I have been making white chocolate ganache using an immersion mixer of late with great success.  I thought I would try that technique to save messing about with melting the chocolate in the microwave.  The immersion mixer helps to emulsify the white chocolate which can rudely clump  if one depends on a whisk.

I then mixed some of the white chocolate custard with the matcha (with the immersion blender because it was on the bench and good to go).

Matcha White Chocolate Ice Cream

Adapted from Kuidaore and Jaden

Makes about 1 litre

375ml heavy cream
375ml milk
100g granulated sugar
1/8 teaspoon fine salt
4 large egg yolks
250 g white chocolate, finely chopped
2 tablespoons matcha powder, sifted

Equipment: Ice cream maker + frozen insert, immersion mixer

1. In a medium heavy saucepan (or the microwave) , bring the cream, milk, sugar and salt to a simmer over low heat, stirring constantly.

2. While whisking eggs, pour about 1/2 cup of the hot cream mixture in a thin, steady stream in the bowl of eggs. This should temper the eggs. Now pour the tempered eggs in the rest of the saucepan with the hot cream mixture, in a thin, steady stream while whisking the hot cream.

3. Cook over low heat, constantly stirring, just until the mixture is thick enough to coat the back of a wooden spoon, about 5 minutes (do not heat over 170C or the eggs will scramble). Do not let this mixture boil. Pour this mixture through a strainer lined with cheesecloth. (I didn’t worry with this step)

4. Place the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl and heat for 2 1/2 minutes, stirring at 30 second intervals until chocolate is melted. Add the matcha powder to the chocolate and stir vigorously with whisk to mix well. Add this to the strained hot cream and stir to blend. (Or use the immersion mixer to melt the chocolate straight into the hot custard, then use some of this mixture to mix in the matcha powder). Cool this mixture and refrigerate until chilled. (Bo Friedburg in the very amazing, Professional Pastry Chef recommends letting the custard rest overnight for best results)

5. Freeze according to the instructions for your ice cream machine.

6 responses to “DB- Valentino Cake and White Chocolate Matcha Ice Cream

  1. I love matcha ice cream! I love that you’ve paired it with the valentino.

  2. Matcha white chocolate ice cream sounds yummy. Your cake looks great.

  3. For those who won’t try the ice cream for fear the color reflects the taste of the ice cream… well, I say great! that’s more for us… I’ve had matcha ice cream and must admit… it was divine! Allthough I don’t know how it is with white chocolate… I’m very tempted to try…
    Very beautiful Andrea! Very creative taste combination!

  4. Boy! That is some ice cream. I would never have thought of that. Beautiful. And the cake looks perfect.

  5. Match ice cream? and salt on the cake? Fantastic.

  6. Wow, what a great ice cream flavor.

Leave a Reply

