TWD-Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise

Dacquoise sweetie, dacquoise!

This week I got to make the TWD pick.  I decided on Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise on pages 293-295 of Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.  I have been baking with the TWD crew for the last year and have had a great time.  Thanks for letting me be part of such a fun group.

IMG_1943

This recipe seemed a good fit as a tropical baker from Australia.  Matthew (my good husband) wasn’t terribly excited but all that changed as spoon hit mouth.  I had to ask him to repeat him saying this was his favorite Dorie thing yet (joining the French Pear Tart and Lemon Tart on his personal winners podium).

This is 3 meringue layers (with almonds and coconut ground finely folded through) filled with white chocolate ganache (or for those who know the limits of their families sweet tooth whipped cream with about 5 oz of firm ganache whipped in).  And to bring balance to this creation pineapple that has been placed under the grill until it just begins to caramalise.  I did try to mess around with my blow torch but it was taking forever.  Perhaps maybe just use the torch to touch up the top layer for maximum visual impact.

There are a few steps and a bit of waiting around for this recipe.  I would suggest making the components the day before and then a quick assembly line in the morning or after work and you are good to go.

I am having a Slow Food planning meeting at my house on Wednesday so I made 6 x 6 inch squares to let me make a second one up fresh for the meeting.

For the Dacquoise

1 cup (65g)  unsweetened shredded coconut

1/2 cup (60g) slivered almonds

1/2 cup (75g)  plus 1 1/2 cups (175g) confectioners (icing) sugar

2 Tablespoons cornstarch

8 large egg whites (240g) at room temperature

1 teaspoon cream of tartar

For the pineapple

1 large (4 1/2 pound) ripe pineapple , peeled, quartered lengthwise, cored and each quater cut crosswise into 1/8 inch thick wedges

Confectioner’s sugar

For the ganache

14 oz premium quality white chocolate finely chopped

3 cups heavy cream

For the final garnish

About 1 cup sweetened shredded coconut, lightly toasted, for decorating

Getting ready

Position the racks to divide the oven into thirds and preheat the oven to 225 degrees F.  Using two pieces of parchment paper, draw 3 rectangles (two on one sheet, one of the other) each 12 x 6).  Turn the sheets over (making sure the outlines show) and use them to line the 2 baking sheets.

To make the dacquoise

Put the coconut, almonds, 2/3 cups of the confectioners’ sugar  and the cornstarch in a food processor and pulse until finely ground.

Working with a stand mixer fitted with a whisk attachment or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the egg whites and cream of tartar at medium-high speed until soft peaks form.  Beat in the remaining 1 1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, 1/2 cup at a time, then beat until the meringue is thick and glossy and holds firm peaks.  Using a large rubber spatula, very gently fold in the coconut mixture.  Spoon one third of the meringue (about 2 1/2) onto each outlined rectangle.  Using a long metal icing spatula, spread the meringue into the meringue into smooth, even layers.

Bake the meringues for 3 hours, rotating the sheets from top to bottom and front to back after 1 1/2 hours.  The meringues should be golden and crisp to the touch.  Let cool completely on the baking sheets on racks.  (The meringues can be made 1 day ahead and kept lightly covered with wax paper at room temp- as long as the room is dry).

For the pineapple

Preheat the broiler and place the place the rack about 4 inches beneath the heat.  Line 2 large rimmed baking sheets with foil.  Place the pineapple wedges between a double thickness of paper towels and pat dry.

Arrange the pineapple wedges on the baking sheets in a single layer and sift just enough confectioner’s sugar over to coat them lightly.  Broil the fruit, one sheet at a time, for 6 to 8 minutes, or until the pineapple is slightly charred in spots- turn the sheets as needed for even cooking.  Cool the sheets.

For the ganache

Put the white chocolate in a large bowl.  Bring the cream to a boil, then pour it over the chocolate.  Let it rest for 1 minute, then whisk until the ganache is smooth.  Press a piece of plastic wrap against the surface to create an airtight seal and chill, stirring occasionally, until it is very cold, about 3 hours.

When the ganache is throughly chilled and you are ready to assemble the dacquoise, beat the ganache with a mixer (use the whisk attachment or a hand mixer) until it is light and fluffy, but don’t overbeat- it should be just on the verge of mounding.

To assemble the dacquoise

Set out a serving plate or cut a 12 x 6 inch piece of cardboard.  Place 1 meringue rectangle flat side down on the plate or cardboard and, using a long metal icing spatula, spread 3/4 cup of the ganache thinly over it.  Cover the ganache with a single layer of pineapple wedges (about 24 wedges in 3 rows of 8).  Repeat with another meringue, more ganache and more pineapple.  Top with the third meringue, and cover the sides and top the sides of the cake with the remaining ganache.  Press the toasted coconut onto the sides of the cake.  Arrange the remaining pineapple decoratively over the top of the cake.

Refrigerate the dacquoise for at least 4 hours, or up to 6 hours, before serving.

42 responses to “TWD-Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise

  1. Could you email me so that I can send you the meme for tomorrow?

    4hisglory92 at gmail dot com

    Thanks

  2. Thanks for making such a great pick! I truly didn’t expect to like it but we loved it! Yours looks wonderful with the toasty pineapple.

  3. I loved this! thanks for a great choice

  4. Yours looks beautiful!!!!!

  5. This was such fun…I really enjoyed all the steps and the entire process. It is such fun to do something completely so like nothing I have done before! Yours looks lovely. Thanks for a great pick!

  6. Thank you so much for picking this wonderful dessert! I loved it so much and I am so excited that we finally got to make it!

  7. I’m sad I had to pass on this this week :( it’s just too darn hot, almost 90 degrees with super high humidity. I would have died baking this. I still want to try it someday, especially after all the rave comments. It looks so delicious!

  8. That looks lovely, Andrea. I’m sorry that I’m missing out on this one.

  9. This looked like a great recipe – so sorry I missed it. It was difficult to get around the nut issue.

    However, it sounds delicious and caramelized pineapple is never a bad thing!

  10. Thanks for such a wonderful pick. My family loved it. I’ll be making this one again.

  11. Thank you so much for picking a winner! Yours looks great!

  12. Great choice! A bit too sweet for my family, but glad yours enjoyed.

  13. Thanks for picking this – it surprised me in a good way. Love the Ab Fab reference at the top of your post.

  14. merci Andréa pour le choix de cette recette :)
    même si c’était sucré, c’était bien bon !

  15. It looks like your husband and mine have similar tastes!

  16. Thanks so much for picking this! It was fun to play around with this recipe!

  17. Nice choice and yours looks very good!

  18. Thanks for choosing such a fun and delicious recipe for us!

  19. Yours is so pretty! We loved this – thanks for the great pick!

  20. I really enjoyed making this dacquoise. Thanks for a great choice!

  21. Absolutely delicious pick! I am so thankful that you picked this. I have been wanting to try it but was a little scared and thanks to you, I finally got to make it. We loved it!
    Yours looks perfect!

  22. It’s beautiful, Andrea. I’m sorry that I didn’t get to bake along with you this week. Sounds like I missed a good one!

  23. ahh…i just got my post up! thanks for a fun and tropical pick!!

  24. It looks perfect — and delicious, too. I’m so very glad that you really liked it.

  25. I really liked the dacquoise, but couldn’t find pineapple and used mango. I think it needed the pineapple, so I will just have to make this again some day, poor me! Yours looks great.

  26. Thanks for picking this one! I’ve never made meringue before so I learned something new! It’s the only part of the recipe I’ve completed so far… hopefully it’ll be done by Wednesday!

  27. Sorry I couldnt participate this week….thanks for hosting!! Glad you loved it!

  28. Thanks for a wonderful selection. I wasn’t sure about it, but ended up loving it!

  29. THank you so much Andrea for choosing that recipe for us this week! It was really cool to make, for it lended itself to many creative ways…

    Yours looks pretty darn great! Thanks again!

  30. This was a great choice! It’s one I never would have chosen for myself, but I ended up loving the final product.

  31. Andrea thank you for picking this one – it’s definitely my favourite TWD recipe so far! Great to ‘meet’ another Aussie blogger too :)

  32. Looks amazing! I didn’t do this one, but I’m impressed with yours.

  33. Thanks for the great pick this week! It’s something I probably wouldn’t have ever made. It was soooo delicious. YUM.

  34. Pingback: Coconut Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise « LA's In The Kitchen

  35. I never ever would have made this recipe. Nothing about it appealed to me. That’s the absolute delight of this website. Every week I make the recipe whether I want to or not and pretend I’m in pastry school. I would have missed out on something really extraordinary if I had passed on this. Thank you!

  36. Yours looks amazing! Thanks for the pick!!!

  37. Oh, Andrea, sorry I had to skip this one – way too hot to bake here. But yours looks delicious. I promise I will make this later. Great pick!!

  38. Thank you so much for picking this..I agree with your husband about the top three recipes from TWD.

  39. thanks for a great pick! i finally got around to making it :)

  40. Pingback: TWD: Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise « Two Scientists Experimenting in the Kitchen

  41. Pingback: {TWD2} Puff Pastry, Meringue Pastry, and Biscuits! « Tea and Scones

Leave a Reply

