TWD- Brioche-Raisin Snails- Catch Up

Way back in March 18, 2008 – Brioche Raisin Snails, pages 56-57 Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan were picked by Culinary Concoctions by Peabody.  (The link will take you to the original post from days of yore).

Anyway, that was pre me owning the book, and now I am making a concerted effort to catch up on all the recipes from before I started and the few I have missed along the way.

I resisted the urge to use the no knead recipe I know and love.  Back when we did the honey pecan buns I did do the sub and got comments telling me how good Dories recipe was, so this time I made Dorie’s brioche.  It is in fact worth the time spent slowly adding butter watching the Kitchenaid do it’s thing (but can I tell you although I know it is possible I wouldn’t mess around with the wooden spoon method…) I usually make a ‘poorer’ dough (much less butter and eggs) so I am not sure  if that has to do with the ‘oh my goodness me’ factor or not.

Anyway 12 oz of butter and 3 eggs later and the dough was made.  Then I made the pastry cream- sadly although I make pastry cream fairly often I must not have cooked this one quite long enough.  It just just didn’t set up  in the fridge overnight and was a bit wet.  I continued on, but it made moving the bun from the sliced roll to the baking tray an exercise in slippery dripping crossness.

These also have drunken raisins in them.  These were so yummy I was inspired to make a batch of rum and raisin ice cream (the custard is chilling in the fridge right now).

These (pastry cream issues aside) are amazing.   Not something you just throw together, but given the calorie content maybe it is a good thing you have to work and plan (just a little) to make these.

Leave a Reply

