TWD- Unbelievably Good Chocolate Black Cherry Ice Cream

December 13, 2011 – Laurie of Slush chose Unbelievably Good Chocolate Blueberry Ice Cream recipe found on page 433 of BFMHTY by Dorie Greenspan.

I had an open jar of black cherry jam and no blueberry jam in the house so I subbed in the cherry.  The chocolate ice cream base is indeed yummy enough to eat whilst it is still custard.  The jam mixed through does add to the sweetness but the tart fruit cuts the uber richness of the ice cream.

I liked this a lot more than I thought I might.  Jam as a proper mix in rather than a swirl as you pack it was new to me.  But, I was nice and I think my dad who loved Breyers cherry swirl ice cream would be a fan.

I do have to say I have been making lots of ice cream from Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams.  Do yourself a favour, if you haven’t tried her recipes, buy the book, go forth, cook and be happy.  Here is a link to one of the teaser recipes but the book is worth the splurge.

Leave a Reply

