TWD- Paris Chocolate Brownies

Di of Di’s Kitchen Notebook has chosen…French Chocolate Brownies on pages 92-93 of Baking from My Home to Yours.  Thanks so much for this treat.

I like the story of how these brownies got their name but, I told my husband these were rum and raisin brownies and- By Golly! That worked for him.

These little treasures of richness really are closer to the fondant cake end of the spectrum, but luckily when baked in individual size molds you really play up the crispy edge thing that brings it closer to its spiritual home of brownie-ness.

I shared these with a dear friend who just doesn’t get my love of dried fruit. I managed to get the sultanas drunk enough that they couldn’t remember they were sultanas, and Mel didn’t pick them until I asked what she thought of them.

Yes, I am the kind of friend that will serve you things you may have said you don’t like, if I think I can sucker you into going “Gee,that’s pretty good”.

 

 

So, one of the things Matt brought back from the States for me were the pyramid shaped moulds. Now, I have a kitch streak a mile wide. I made my Paris Brownies in a pyramid shape to echo the Louvre pyramids. (this links to where I found my lovely picture) That is pretty daggy now I come to think of it.

These came together very very simply. The chocolate melting method is almost exactly the reverse of what I have been doing (generally I melt the butter first and then add the chocolate to that- same result different order).

I think the reason Dorie told us to heat the rum for 30 sec was so we could get our cameras ready for blogging purposes. Trying to capture the excitement of flambe on camera while making sure the rum doesn’t get carried away with itself really should be a 2 person job. But, I like to live on the edge.

One small grumble is the sultanas sink straight to the bottom of the mix. Something that causes presentation problems when using silicone molds like me.

These will absolutely, positively get made again (working oven be willing).  An obvious substitution is dried cherries flambed in brandy. 

It is just mean to tease myself like that with an oven on the blink.

Here is the recipe with metric conversion.

French Chocolate Brownies

– makes 16 brownies –
Adapted from Baking From My Home to Yours.

Ingredients

1/2 cup (65g) all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
1/3 (50g) cup raisins, dark or golden
1 1/2 tablespoons water
1 1/2 tablespoons dark rum
6 ounces (175g) bittersweet chocolate, finely chopped
1 1/2 sticks (12 tablespoons; 6 ounces 170g) unsalted butter, at room temperature and cut into 12 pieces
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1 cup (200g) sugar

Getting ready: Center a rack in the oven and preheat the oven to 300°F. Line an 8-inch square baking pan with foil, butter the foil, place the pan on a baking sheet, and set aside.

Whisk together the flour, salt and cinnamon, if you’re using it.

Put the raisins in a small saucepan with the water, bring to a boil over medium heat and cook until the water almost evaporates. Add the rum, let it warm for about 30 seconds, turn off the heat, stand back and ignite the rum. Allow the flames to die down, and set the raisins aside until needed.

Put the chocolate in a heatproof bowl and set the bowl over a saucepan of simmering water. Slowly and gently melt the chocolate, stirring occasionally. Remove the bowl from the saucepan and add the butter, stirring so that it melts. It’s important that the chocolate and butter not get very hot. However, if the butter is not melting, you can put the bowl back over the still-hot water for a minute. If you’ve got a couple of little bits of unmelted butter, leave them—it’s better to have a few bits than to overheat the whole. Set the chocolate aside for the moment.

Working with a stand mixer with the whisk attachment, or with a hand mixer in a large bowl, beat the eggs and sugar until they are thick and pale, about 2 minutes. Lower the mixer speed and pour in the chocolate-butter, mixing only until it is incorporated—you’ll have a thick, creamy batter. Add the dry ingredients and mix at low speed for about 30 seconds—the dry ingredients won’t be completely incorporated and that’s fine. Finish folding in the dry ingredients by hand with a rubber spatula, then fold in the raisins along with any liquid remaining in the pan.

Scrape the batter into the pan and bake 50 to 60 minutes, or until the top is dry and crackled and a knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack and allow the brownies to cool to warm or room temperature.

Carefully lift the brownies out of the pan, using the foil edges as handles, and transfer to a cutting board. With a long-bladed knife, cut the brownies into 16 squares, each roughly 2 inches on a side, taking care not to cut through the foil.

Serving: The brownies are good just warm or at room temperature; they’re even fine cold. I like these with a little something on top or alongside—good go-alongs are whipped crème fraiche or whipped cream, ice cream or chocolate sauce or even all three!

Storing: Wrapped well, these can be kept at room temperature for up to 3 days or frozen for up to 2 months.

32 responses to “TWD- Paris Chocolate Brownies

  1. Nice job Andrea!! They look great!

  2. Mmmm, that first pic really captures how fudgy these brownies are. Love the pyramid!

  3. baking these in a pyramid mold is just perfect! so sorry to hear about your oven–must have been terrifying to see it “glow”, actually. hope it’s fixable.

  4. What neat molds for individual brownies. Nicely done.

  5. I love the pyramid mold! Very cute.

  6. The pyramid idea is too cute. I couldn’t get a picture of my flame even with the 30 second head start. good job.

  7. I love the shape of your brownies…and I’m one of those people who like the crispy edges, so this this right up my alley! I would definitely encourage trying it with cherries (i made mine with cherries and cognac…delish!)

  8. Very pretty! I love that you tied them to the Louvre! I was just eyeing that mold the other day – now I’m going to have to get it!

  9. Ugh, you have my heart. I love the interpretation of the pyramid at the Luvre. I love Paris!

  10. Pyramid brownies – gorgeous!

  11. Your pyramid brownies are soooo cute! Well done! I like to trick people into eating and “liking” things they think they don’t too!

  12. I love your molds! Very cute! Great job!

  13. How clever!! I love the pyramids!!

  14. Kitsch is good, bring it on!

  15. I like the pyramids! They look great.

  16. The pyramid molds are so fun! Great job!
    Clara @ I♥food4thought

  17. They look super fudgy! Next time I may have to take mine out a few minutes early so they are extra gooey. Great job!

  18. They look great- I love the flame picture!

  19. I love the pyramid shape! Very cool!

  20. love your molds! i wasn’t able to get a good flambe picture, despite my best efforts…

  21. What cute molds! Drunk and pointy, you could call them fifties starlet brownies.

  22. Everyone has already chimed in on how cute the pyramid mold is for these brownies…so tally up another vote for creative use and tie-ins! Great job…it is not easy coming up with creative choices with the crowd at TWD!

  23. Rum Raisin Brownies! Perfect!

  24. Great idea! I love pyramids. Well done

    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  25. Hah, don’t worry, you’re not the only one that purposely serves things to their friends that they don’t like. I’ve made dishes made almost completely of onions for people who hate onions, and a chicken dish for someone who never eats chicken (they all ended up loving their corresponding dishes – I think it’s just their past bad experiences). Your brownies look great, and I love the shape!

  26. I love the pyramid molds! What a fun presentation. Good luck with the cooker – that must have been a pretty terrifying experience!

  27. Wow, your hubby brings kitchen gifts back from his travels? You lucky thing!

    Cute cupcakes! The pyramids are adorable 🙂

  28. Yup! I am with everyone else…the pyramid is too cool!

  29. Very cute, I like the pyramid, great idea!

  30. There’s something to be said for living on the edge. Your brownie pyramids are adorable.

Leave a Reply

