TWD- Apple Cheddar Scones

This week for the Tuesday’s With Dorie Bake, Karina of The Floured Apron has chosen… Apple Cheddar Scones from page 32 of Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

This recipe touches on some of the differences in what we call things in Australia vs in the US.  In Australia a biscuit is a scone, a cookie is a biscuit.  I had a playful discussion with my Australian husband about what I should call baked goods in front of our children!  (They are baking bilingual, they know what to ask for depending on the parent in front of the bickie/cookie jar).

Anyway my impression is to an American audience a scone is a biscuit that has stuff added in to it.  Stuff like apple and cheddar.

I am still overseas (without my cookbook) so Dianne of Dianne’s Dishes was kind enough to send me the recipe.  This scone is for her…

I made this for breakfast here.  Strangely good with the local sausage.  I measured everything out and left my dry ingredients in the fridge overnight meaning all I had to do was crack an egg and mix in the wet ingredients.  (I think I have already written to my general aversion to too much activity early in the morning).

I needed to make a couple of substitutions.  I couldn’t find butter milk so I used a couple of tablespoons of yougurt in milk.  Also, although dried pineapple was available in the local shop, dried apple was not.  So I used the technique of making pineapple chips from Dorie Greenspan’s/Pierre Herme, Gormandise to dry some apple here in Holysov.  Essentially you just cut the fruit in rings and bake at a very low temperature for a few hours.

I could find Polish Cheddar Cheese (quite good actually).  Here is a shot of all the ingredients (thank heavens for dictionaries!)

My verdict, well they were nice.  I thought they were a tad dry (the cornmeal contributed to that, I feel).  Everyone enjoyed them and they were all gone by miday.  I couldn’t really taste the cheese.  The bits of apple did bring a certain brightness to the scone.

Still feeling very lucky to participate so far from home!

19 responses to “TWD- Apple Cheddar Scones

  1. It’s like how cupcakes are muffins with frosting – all semantics. They look delicious, even if you weren’t wowed by the flavor. Kudos on doing all this while overseas!

  2. Great job on the apples. That’s a very neat looking pile of ingredients.

  3. Always fun to see ingredients from the other side of the world. Nice job on the scones (and the apples)!

  4. I don’t think I would have been so brave as to try and figure out how to substitute things that I don’t have. Maybe I’ll get there one day. Your scones look delicious!

  5. You did a great job with those substitutions! Your scones look great!

  6. Great job! I am amazed you are doing it so far from home! Now that is commitment!

  7. Great work, I’m so impressed!

  8. Bravo for figuring out so much! You’re a trooper to do this much sleuthing, subbing and extra baking to make the scones. I think once you’ve got everything at the ready, you’ll find that they’re really quick to make. You might also find that they taste different or have a different texture when you get back home and can use the ingredients you’re accustomed to. It will be interesting to see what happens.

  9. I am impressed you made it so far from home. Great work!
    Ulrike from Küchenlatein

  10. Baking bi-lingual! :0 ) Very cute! Nice scones.

  11. I love that your kids know to ask for different things depending on who they’re talking to. =) Your scones look delicious.

  12. They look wonderful! Great job on the substitutions! I bet these did taste great with sausage in the morning!!

  13. It’s so much fun to see your post and the photo of the various ingredients, etc. You did a great job with all of it…thanks for sharing.

  14. I love that you dried your own apples!

  15. Your scones look delicious!

  16. Great job on the scones!

  17. I’m so impressed that you pulled this off despite being away from home. Your scones look delicious!

  18. I love seeing the results from the other side of the world. Great job!

  19. I thought they were a little dry too. My husband actually thought they were cornbread!

    Your picture looks lovely. And I must commend you for being able to do it away from home.

Leave a Reply

