TWD- Summer Fruit Galette

 

This week for our Tuesday’s With Dorie Bake- Michelle from Michelle in Colorado Springs selected …

Summer Fruit Galette on pages 366 – 367.

 

Don’t get me wrong.  I love to bake.  But, oh my goodness!  I have been so busy since returning from holidays.  I made the dough for the crust 3 days ago and have just been trying to get an hour or so to knock the rest off.  And to end the ramble, I am so glad I did.

I got a chance to use my pastry bag.  That gadget has some promise.  I am so glad I made this pastry in Europe and have determined that environment has a lot to do with pastry happiness.  There is no way I am lattice-ing a pie crust here unless I get a super air con.

Now, it is not summer in Darwin.  So I thought using some of the apples that my boys have developed TERRIBLE habits in half eating.  Here is an example of their handy work.

So I cut out the nibbled bits and cooked them up a bit (as per Sherry Yards recipe that was used for the Daring Bakers challenge last month.  Dories recipe was based around stone fruit and I was concerned the apples wouldn’t have a chance to cook up properly, I wanted my apples to be tender but not mush.  Then for a summer touch I added a couple of handfuls of frozen blueberries.

The custard firmed up in the 12 minutes suggested but almost melted into the filling to add a lovely mouth feel and taste. 

I used my fancy Jamie Oliver silicone tart pan but the pastry was so flaky it started cracking and breaking on un molding so I gave up and served from the pan.

This was not my most photogenic Dorie recipe.  But, it was very yummy.  The In-Laws who are visiting also gave it the thumbs up.  My mother in law Wendy who does have a history of pushing the pastry to the side ate every last crumb, and for that matter so did I!

16 responses to “TWD- Summer Fruit Galette

  1. Looks good to me! Here it is so hot , that the crust is melting at once if it is outside the fridge.

  2. Looks delicious! And that was a great way to use those nibbled apples. I tried the rolling bag a bit ago. I find that it helps for a pie pan. For this one, I just let it go rustic.

  3. that is so funny what your kids do to the apples!!! hahahah

    this is a very rustic dessert, so you did a great job!

  4. My boys do the same thing to the apples!! I eat many pre-tasted apples these days. This was a good recipe and I enjoyed it, too! Glad you liked it.

  5. I love the apple evidence! Using apples would be great in the fall! What a fantastic idea. Yours turned out very pretty and yummy looking!

  6. that looks yummy…!! i am not sure if i can make this but all the pictures are tempting me.

  7. My kids do the same thing! drives me nuts and I feel guilty throwing out food so I end up eating apples half the day. LOL, time for a new snack, I guess.

    Anyway, mmmm, apples sound wonderful. Great idea!

  8. Pies, cobblers and galettes never want to photograph. Yours looks good though.

  9. I often find half eaten apples lying around the house too lol. Good for you for using them up! Your galette looks great 🙂

  10. How industrious of you. I hate to waste as well.
    I love the pic of the apples.
    Great job!

  11. How cute are those apples! I love it! Your galette looks yummy!

  12. Yummy beats photogenic every time. I seem to remember doing the half-eating of the apples thing though… and half drinking of a glass of water… Whoops!

  13. My little one does that to all of the apples. Wonderful way to use them all up! Great job!

  14. The apple picture is too funny. That’s a great idea to use them up! I bet it was wonderful.

  15. Good use of leftover apples!

  16. what a great way of using of the half eaten apples – how cute!

Leave a Reply

