TWD- Black-And-White Banana Loaf

I think I found a way of getting my nephew to eat more fruit.  The chocolate marbling in this turned banana loaf into a lick the plate clean kind of food.  My boys are fruit lovers (even if they don’t finish every piece) but Mitchell has entered a picky phase.  So this is a winner for the little ones.

I was surprised at just how runny this cake batter was.  But because of this I came up with another variation of the marbling technique.  I just put in large tablespoons of batter alternating colours, and then I put the opposite colour on top and continued up (I got 4 layers up).  Then I just needed the slightest nudge of the knife blade to get my marbling done.

 

This cake pleased the little ones and also made the rest of the family happy.  

I do have a confession to make, I am totally in love with Dories Classic Banana Bundt Cake with shards of dark chocolate in it.  This recipe comes close but isn’t my absolute fav use of mushy bananas.

17 responses to “TWD- Black-And-White Banana Loaf

  1. Your loaf looks great. I am going to have to try the classic banana bundt cake. Sounds yummy!

  2. What a great swirl!

  3. Wow, very nice marbling. Looks really good.

  4. Your marbling turned out so well! I tried the alternating technique too but it didn’t work out well at all. Great job!

  5. That looks really cool! Love the Marbel job!

  6. Hey whatever works to get the kids to eat their fruits right? Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  7. I’m SO impressed with your marbling. Can you teach me your secrets?

  8. Gorgeous marbling indeed!! Mine was runny, but I went with it, and turned my convection oven on. it baked in about an hour.

  9. Good call on the marbling!

  10. Your swirls are wonderful! Great looking bread!

  11. Beautiful marbling, and a great way to get someone to eat fruit 🙂

  12. I definitely agree that the banana bundt cake recipe is hard to top! Great job!!!

  13. Oooh, I’ll have to try the banana bundt cake soon – thanks for the tip!

  14. The Classic Banana Bundt is a DELICIOUS recipe. Yum! You did a really great job with the marbling here. Nice job getting some fruit into a picky eater.

  15. Your marbling turned out really well!

  16. I love the way that looks — completely different from all the others!

  17. I thought this was pretty good, so now I really need to try the bundt! Your banana bread looks wonderful.

Leave a Reply

