TWD- Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

For this weeks Tuesday with Dorie, Dolores of Chronicles in Culinary Curiosity chose: Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream on page 434 of Baking from my Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

One advantage of living in the tropics is it is always ice cream weather.

I also had the epinphany of leaving the bulky ice cream canister in the display home/stunt kitchen freezer as my freezer at home is always jam packed.

The recipe was quite simple.  I substituted light sour cream (as it was in the fridge ready to go) the only other variation was a Tablespoon of gin.  It helps keep the ice crystals from forming and can make it easier to scoop straight from the freezer.  It is really important not to add too much alcohol otherwise you get soup!  (Anyone who has stored vodka in the freezer knows the anti-freeze properties of alcohol.

I like the freshness of flavor of this ice cream but I am a fan of the cooked custard style of ice cream.  Even though I used light sour cream and regular cream (35% fat) in the recipe I had a slight residue of cream/fat that took a while to disapate from the roof of my mouth.  Not certain what that was from but perhaps there wasn’t the right balance to emulsify the fats better (such as eggs or larger amounts of sugar).

So the final verdict is lovely flavor profile but not perfect mouth feel.  Lots to contemplate in how to make it better for next time.  Now go check out the TWD blogroll to see what everyone else came up with.

25 responses to “TWD- Blueberry Sour Cream Ice Cream

  1. Beautiful blueberry color! Looks melt in your mouth yum. Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  2. How pretty! Thanks for the comparison notes. I still haven’t tried making ice cream, so that will help. 😉

  3. Looks so pretty…interesting on the gin addition!!

  4. Nice work putting liquor in it. I love doing that, it’s the best consistency.

  5. Lovely ice cream 🙂

  6. But could you taste the gin? I’d like to try that trick with regular ice cream.

  7. adding gin was a good idea, as the ice cream did get quite firm after a few hours in the freezer

  8. andreainthekitchen

    Megan, at 1 tablespoon no taste whatsoever. I usually use vodka but the gin was at the front of the cupboard after a duty free buy up in Singapore. Besides, the gin is flavored by juniper berries so the blueberry ties in well.

  9. Looks great! I never knew about the gin trick. Thanks for the tip!

  10. The gin does sound interesting. It looks yummy.

  11. I love the tip with the gin! That’s awesome! thanks so much!

  12. Never knew gin could do the trick! Ice cream looks wonderful!

  13. Adding vodka. Great tip. Thanks. ICe cream looks lucious.

  14. Your ice cream looks fabulous! Well done! Great tip about the gin!!

  15. Yours is so purple. I wish mine had been that lovely color.

  16. Alcohol huh? I bet that made it better!! lol

    I too like a more custardy type of icecream

  17. We have had that happen with our ice cream before as well, yuck! From your pics it looks great!

  18. Yours is so beautifully blue! I love the color.

  19. I had heard that adding alcohol softened up the ice cream, but I’m always afraid that it’ll end up as soup. Good to know yours didn’t.

  20. you had me at ‘gin’. 🙂
    first time visitor. digin’ all your pretty food.
    your banana chocolate loaf looks wonderful. can’t wait to see what you come up with next!

  21. I’ll have to try adding alcohol next time. I like custard based ice creams, too! But I also loved how quick it was to make this one. Yours looks really good!

  22. Never thought of adding alcohol to it….hmm. Too bad I don’t drink…will have to find something else to keep it soft.

  23. Looks beautiful! Like the alcohol idea!

  24. andreainthekitchen

    Thanks for all the lovely comments. I used frozen berries as that is all I can access in Darwin. My boys love this ice cream, but I make them take their shirts off before eating it!

    Sharon, Check out Steph at a whisk and a spoon. http://awhiskandaspoon.wordpress.com/ She uses a touch of xantham gum for a similar effect. Rose Levy Beranbaum suggests a product called colbosan (but I have never seen it in Australia). Hope that helps.

  25. Cindy - Bello Ciccolato

    Nice. Also prefer the custard-type ice cream.

Leave a Reply

