TWD- Granola Grabbers

For this weeks Tuesdays with Dorie Bake, Michelle of Bad Girl Baking chose: Granola Grabbers on page 82 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

This is a recipe that really pushes the limit of just how little cookie dough can be used to hold together a whole lot of mix ins. Think of it this way, if it were a dress it would be held together by ‘Hollywood Tape’ and a prayer.

I used home made granola/toasted musli, so mine wasn’t too sweet. I didn’t add extra nuts as my musli has lots of almonds, sesame and sunflower seeds. Being a girl who likes to both follow the rules and play around (yes, I get the contradiction) I split the batter and added some plumped up sultanas (soaked in boiling water for a few minutes) and dark chocolate M & M’s to the respective batters.

Oh, I wish I could say I liked the sultana ones best. But alas, dark choc M & M’s just won hands down.

There is a really interesting texture to these biscuits. The extreme homeliness of the granola is held together by what is on reflection a sable base. All together, very, very nice. Now go check out the TWD blogroll and see what the rest of the group has to say.

20 responses to “TWD- Granola Grabbers

  1. No matter what, I think M & M’s always beat out any other competition. But that’s just my opinion! Nice looking cookies! Glad you enjoyed them.

  2. haha–the dress analogy is great! m&ms are hard to beat; certainly sultanas are no match. šŸ™‚

  3. haha.. i totally agree.. it was a crumbly mess and falling apart, but just stuck together well enough for me. I like how you made homemade granola.

  4. The cookies with the M&Ms look so great! (and it’s okay to like them better!!)

  5. Love the dress analogy! M&Ms sound great.

  6. You can’t be blamed for preferring the chocolate. Too hard to resist.

  7. Mmmm… M&Ms! What a great addition! Definitely wanna do that next time I bake these (and there will be a next time)! Great job!
    Clara @ iheartfood4thought

  8. Yeah, at least you added the Sultanas – I just went straight to the chocolate and M&M’s! I’ll bet they were fantastic with the dark chocolate ones!

  9. The cookies look great! I will have to add some chocolate of some sort the next time I make them!

  10. Love your Hollywood tape and a prayer comment! Your cookies look great and dark chocolate m&ms are so the way to go!

  11. Haha – chocolate always wins out. And yes, hollywood tape is the only reason why these can even be called cookies.

  12. dark. chocolate. m&ms. oh my. those look fantastic!

  13. Mmmm dark chocolate M&Ms! That would win in my book, too!

  14. M&M’s sound really good. You can never go wrong with a little dark chocolate!

  15. M&M’s the best way to go.

  16. Dark chocolate m&m’s: great idea! They can now be called GORP cookies. LOL.

  17. Love the dark chocolate M&Ms, I didn’t even know that they existed!

  18. M&Ms! Now, THAT’S an after-school cookie.

  19. wow, M&M in the cookies! looks awesome!

  20. M & Ms make them look prettier. I’ll have to try it next time.

Leave a Reply

