TWD- Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake

For this weeks Tuesday With Dorie Sugar Extravaganza, Tammy of Wee Treats by Tammy has made a most excellent choice, Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake on pages 264 and 265 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

Dorie suggests a show stopping (and perhaps heart challenging) centre of the table 8 inch affair.  Once the brownie is lovingly covered with caramel and peanuts it need to be eaten fairly promptly.  We are not entertaining this week so it would be just the 4 of us.  I thought baking 4 inch mini cakes, to be adorned just before serving was the perfect middle path.

This decision was probably reinforced by the recent purchase of a Wii Fit board that suggested more exercise less cake!

I was cross to find the spring form mechanism was broken on one of my tins so I just used 3 tins.  Had I read the recipe closely before hand I would have not been so bold with batter filling.  What I did end up with was 6 mini cakes once I torted them

I had some caramel coated peanuts floating in the fridge so I used those in the caramel.  I added some Maldon for the salt kick.

I liked this with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a huge glass of milk.  My dear husband prefered the brownie unadorned.  Less is almost always more for him unless custard is involved.  My boys ate the brownie but left the caramel and nuts.  No accounting for taste!

Now go and check out the Tuesdays With Dorie Blogroll and see the other Brownie Cakes for the week.

10 responses to “TWD- Caramel-Peanut-Topped Brownie Cake

  1. Whoa – I want to live by someone who just has caramel covered peanuts laying around in the fridge! The mini cakes look oh-so-cute and delicious, great job.

  2. looks delicious! can’t hurt to have a couple extra of these little cakes!

  3. thanks for making my pick! I love that photo of the caramel gooiness!!

  4. Delicious! I love the mini cakes!

  5. Oh, that last pic looks yummy.

  6. I agree, that last pic looks absolutely delicious!

  7. Yum! Your caramel looks delicious! 🙂

  8. Those minis look great!

  9. (Drooling here) I can taste it just by looking at that closeup picture! Yum!

  10. Your mini cakes are lovely! And oh, the oozing caramel…

Leave a Reply

