TWD- Pumpkin Muffins

For October 21st, Kelly of Sounding My Barbaric Gulp chose,

Pumpkin Muffins on page 13 of Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

Canned pumpkin is not a common thing in Australia (as in I don’t think I have ever seen it).  Australians love their pumpkin.  Generally it is served as a savory accompaniment to a roast dinner.   We have very different varities here (Queensland Blue, Jap and Butternut being the 3 most common).  I prefer using the butternut in baking as it is the least prone to ‘stringy-ness’ and has a nice flavour.  My hubby struggles with the notion of pumpkin pie to this day.

These were quick and easy to make.  The pumpkin keeps them moist for a day longer than standard muffins.  Dorie was right- these are great toasted (in the sandwich press).  The nuts, pumpkin, sultanas and sunflower seeds make these a fairly guilt free pleasure.

One small concern is I could taste the baking powder in the background.  I may try just a little less and see how that goes.  Now go and check out the TWD blogroll and see all the other yummy muffins.

14 responses to “TWD- Pumpkin Muffins

  1. These look just grand! Great job.

  2. Your muffins look really good!! I didn’t notice the bakingpowder though…

  3. I can’t imagine what canned pumpkin looks like – I keep thinking of baby food! Great muffins!!

  4. These look great! I loved this recipe!!

  5. Glad you liked them!

  6. Dang, I never even thought to toast mine. Yours look wonderful.

  7. I never thought to toast mine either! Your muffins look really good. I used the same pink baking cups and really liked how the muffins turned out in them.

  8. I loved these muffins!! I still think you could sub butternut squash if hubby can’t take the thought of pumpkin… 🙂

  9. really! that’s interesting about the baking powder taste – maybe it’s something about your baking powder? but great looking muffins.

  10. I loved this recipe and I am not a pumpkin fan, yours look great!

  11. Beautiful job on the muffins… I also love the green dinosaur cake under!
    What a gorgeous boy you have… must have been sooooo happy!

  12. Weren’t these just scrumptious? I just had one for breakfast. I will try the chocolate chips next time with some craisins. I didn’t drop the temp, but did drop the cooking time as they were done long before 25 minutes.

  13. Next time…toast and butter. yummmm
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

