Daring Bakers- Pizza, Pizza, Pizza it’s a lotza fun!

Apologies to Hi-5 for the vauge plagarism of their song for the title of this post.

This months Daring Bakers is home made pizza.  Recipe from Peter Reinharts most excellent, The Bread Bakers Apprentice.  I made this the first time in the month for Liam’s birthday party.  Perfect party food.

I let everyone top their own pizzas and even had them have a go at (trying) to toss the pizza dough in the air.  Given the hoards of children and general busy-ness of a childrens party I couldn’t get anyone to take a photo of me trying to spin the pizza.  So here are 2 photos of family having a go. The first is my good husband.  Not a great photo but the only time anyone got ‘take off’ and it is definite proof of concept.

Apologies to Sarah (for using this photo) she gave it a red hot go.  I am sure the look on my face was even more concerned!

In the interest of fairness I made the pizza again (for the express purpose of getting photos).  I also added in some slightly underfed sourdough starter.  I decided I wanted the crust a little thicker so I divided the dough into 4 portions this time.  It made it so much easier to work with.

Matt was coming home early.  The dough was prepped.  The kids were excited.  The oven was seriously hot, hot hot.

Matthew was late, the kids were increasingly ratty.  So I made them a pizza.  I tried to get my 5 year old to take an action shot but he wanted to use the camera to take photos of his dinosaur bedspread he got as a birthday present.  I got hungry and made myself a calzone.  Forgot to put cheese inside so sprinkled on top.  Still no action photos.

Matt came home.  The phone rang.  I stepped outside for a well deserved moment of quiet.  Matt was really helpful and made the final two pizzas.  No photos.  Small tantrum from me….  Matt only trying to be helpful.

The best laid plans.

This challenge was lots of fun.  I found the dough got way too thin and ripped in the middle when I tried the toss (especially on the first batch which felt quite wet).  On the second go the individual pizzas developed a bit of a skin sitting on the bench and that made them feel a lot easier to work with.  I got more of a gentle stretch over the knuckles and got a reasonable thickness and shape.  Their was a lovely crumb structure with the slightly thicker base I preferred.  I couldn’t really taste a difference in the sourdough spiked dough and the base recipe.  But I have never been good with less is more on a pizza.

2 responses to “Daring Bakers- Pizza, Pizza, Pizza it’s a lotza fun!

  1. I like the fact that you made another batch just for the pictures. THAT is what the kids will remember! Cute post.

  2. What a funny story – sounds like dinnertime at my house!

Leave a Reply

