TWD- Rugelach

Thanks to Piggy of Piggy’s Cooking Journal,for picking Rugelach from pages 150 and 151 of Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.  Check out her site for the recipe.

I am very fortunate that I do not have too many baking disasters.  Much like a person who has taken a defensive driving class and practised around the track a few times, I can usually see when things are about to take a bad turn and take evasive action.

I had my suspicions that this Rugelach recipe may be a bit challenging.  It is 93F degrees here every day and at it’s coolest at night it is still 74F.  I had such success in making pie crusts when I was in Europe this summer.  I forgot that the reason I don’t make pie often is pastry is a bugger in the tropics!

The rugelach base is essentially a butter and cream cheese rich pastry.  It had 2 states in my kitchen.  Completely solid (bash with a rolling pin and crack) or far too soft to work with.  I tried it fresh from the fridge, morning and night.  Poor air con was trying to take some of the heat out but not enough to facilitate working with butter rich pastry.  I also put an ice filled baking tray on the granite bench to not much result.  I may try again but only roll out to 10 inches.

I reminded myself that Dories recipe probably worked a treat for people who didn’t live in a sauna.

That aside, I did kind of make some rough crescent shapes.  The pastry cracked and just didn’t play the game.  I also tried a rugelach pizza with some of the pieces that just clearly were not going to roll up.  That was a bit less trying and just as tasty.

 I used a mix of milk, dark and white chocolate (mostly dark) that were left over in the fridge.  I was surprised to find a bit of Easter chocolate lurking towards the back.  I don’t tend to eat much chocolate by itself but bake with it a lot.  I am glad I tried the chocolate version but much like Mrs. Strauss, back to jam and dried fruit for me.

Now I will try these again in the dry season, when I don’t have to fight against the environment so much. Now do check out the TWD blogroll and see what twists and turns the other Dorie Bakers have had!

15 responses to “TWD- Rugelach

  1. sorry about the heat!! they still look delicious, though. i like the idea of rugelach-pizza 🙂

  2. Whoa, rugelach pizza – I have to try that sometime. I tend to have problems working with cream cheese doughs too, even without extremely hot weather. Kudos for pressing on and making them!

  3. Looks good – and you are a trooper for cooking in the heat! Yummy!

  4. I like the pizza rugelach. Nice effort!

  5. Mine didnt look like rugelach either! But they tasted yummy and i bet yours did too – all that chocolate. Yum!

  6. oooh rugelach pizza, fab idea!!! i would take that for dinner over regular stuff anyday. rolling is tough for me too so i made pinwheels, it’s much easier!

  7. OH…I bet they tasted so wonderful.

    Sorry about your sauna conditions.

  8. That’s what my kitchen has been like for the past 5 months – extreme heat! A+ for effort, and I’ll bet they still tasted great!

  9. Awwww, that’s too bad! I’m sure they still tasted good though.
    I’m a fellow TWD baker, and I was thinking that it would be nice if we all could chip in and get Laurie some small token/gift for all the work she does. Would you be willing to contribute? If I can get enough people, it would only be about $1 per person. No pressure 🙂 Let me know! bethberg12@yahoo.com

  10. How terrible for you! The dough is marvelously easy to work with under the proper climatic conditions, so hang onto the recipe till you get better weather. I like the rugelach pizza, though.

  11. I want your chocolate. 😀

  12. As long as they tasted good…that’s all that matters. right? I saw that someone just made a bar cookie out of the dough and fillings. That might be easier. Great job, though!

  13. Sorry about the heat! Next time things will go better with the rugelach I’m sure. At least you tried and I bet they are delicious. Sometimes the biggest kitchen disasters are the best tasting foods of all!

  14. Kudos to you for soldiering on despite the heat! I’m glad the end result was at least tasty.

  15. don’t you hate it when the weather isn’t cooperative? good call on the rugelach pizza– i probably wouldn’t have thought of that!

Leave a Reply

