TWD- Grandmas Sugar Cookies

This week for the Tuesday’s With Dorie Bake, Ulrike of Küchenlatein chose Grandma’s All-Occasion Sugar Cookies on pages 146-147 of Dorie Greenspans Baking From My Home To Yours.

sta60070

It is still quite warm here so another butter rich dough was a challenge.  In fact after one batch I decided I need to stop talking about using the other better air conditioned kitchen and do it!

sta60071You can see the dough melting away above.

I really wanted to make the Christmas Cookie Tree.  That’s what the hole is for in the middle.

sta60072I need to bake the other half of the dough to get more of the tree thing happening.  I also have some gingerbread dough to supplement the bulk.  I will take more photos once done and add it to this post.  Hopefully I also get my camera back (which I lent to my sister in law for the company Christmas party) tomorrow so the photos will be clearer.  I am fond of my little Olympus.

sta60076This cookies were very crispy and lovely.  I stuck to the base recipe and didn’t try any mix ins.  I am looking forward to finishing off the tree- maybe it will rain tomorrow and take the heat down to below 30C.  Now go and check out the TWD blogroll and see the other tasty treats.

11 responses to “TWD- Grandmas Sugar Cookies

  1. What a cute little christmas tree! I hope the heat relents so that you can enjoy baking a bit more 🙂

  2. What a cute idea! Nice work on the cookies.

  3. Caitlin, I really enjoy baking (even in the heat) I just generally avoid butter rich roll outs this time of year.
    I was so glad the DB Danish Pastry challenge was in June (as close as I get to winter).
    I do love living in the tropics, while you get a white Christmas it is prawn, passionfruit, rambutan and mango season.

  4. Can’t wait to see the rest!

  5. I have the stackable tree cutters as well, I just haven’t gotten around to making them this year. Great idea, though!

  6. Can’t wait to see the tree, I love how those look! I really liked this recipe, I cut them thicker than suggested and ended up with yummy chewy cookies!

  7. Cute idea.

    Weren’t these fabulous?

  8. That Christmas cookie tree is absolutely ADORABLE! What a fantastic idea!!!

  9. I can’t wait to see the finished tree! Great idea!

  10. I love that Christmas tree idea. So fun!

  11. It wasn’t terribly hot here and I had trouble with the buttery dough. I had to keep putting it back in the fridge. Maybe my hands are just really hot. *shrug*

    Your tree idea is cute. It seems like a fun thing to do with kids.

Leave a Reply

