Daring Bakers- French Yule Log

pc250291

This months Daring Bakers was a lovely challenge.  The French Yule log is in over simplified terms an ice cream cake with quite a few upgrades.

This month’s challenge is brought to us by the adventurous Hilda from Saffron and Blueberry and Marion from Il en Faut Peu Pour Etre Heureux.
They have chosen a French Yule Log by Flore from Florilege Gourmand

I made the stock standard version in a silicon loaf mold.  This is not to snear at the standard recipe but it had 6 components and I wanted to see how they worked together before I started messing about with variations.  Also, I lurve dark chocolate.

So the Yule log is made up of a chocolate glaze, daquoise cake layer chocolate mousse,  crisp praline (yummy crispy layer) more mousse, a baked custard layer, more mousse and then some ganache and finally another daquoise layer.

I was deeply pleased with this dessert. As were my Christmas brunch attendees.

My only need to do better areas in them are…  need to make bottom daquoise layer a bit bigger.  I made a template to suit the top layer of the mold but didn’t remember to flare the bottom layer to suit my loaf mold.  Also, the custard layer had ice crystals in it and that was a bit distracting for me.

This was a lovely challenge and perfect for a summer Christmas.

Now go and check the Daring Bakers Blogroll and see what other delicious treats the DB  have come up with.

5 responses to “Daring Bakers- French Yule Log

  1. My creme brulee had ice crystals in it too. Too weird. But the crisp insert was to-die-for. So good! Beautiful job!

  2. Your log looks great. I followed the basic recipe, too, since I adore dark chocolate. Well done.

  3. Yes, this would have been great for the summer~~~ Nice job

  4. I love the you did a trial version! Great job!

  5. I bet a silicone mold would be great for this – easier to get out!
    Nice work, btw.

Leave a Reply

