TWD- Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread

In case anyone was having Christmas withdrawals, Heather of Sherry Trifle chose Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread for this weeks Tuesdays with Dorie Bake.  You can find it on page 212 of Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

p1240286

This gingerbread layers the ginger by using fresh finely chopped ginger, dried ginger and Dorie calls for stem ginger.  I had some ginger marmalade left over from one of the tarts ages ago so I fished out some the ginger bits and chopped them up.  That way, everything called for came from my pantry.  Nigella Lawson has a similar themed recipe in Nigella Bites but Dorie ups the ante with melted chocolate through the batter, chocolate chips and in case you are missing the good things comes in threes theme- chocolate coffee icing.

This was a nice recipe but, heaven help me I may be a bit of a purist here.  I think the added fat from the chocolate helped carry the layered ginger flavours but, I think I like it chocolate free better.  Patrick on the other hand will always vote for more chocolate…

p12603181Now go and check the TWD blogroll and see what other spicy treats there are to be had.

13 responses to “TWD- Fresh Ginger and Chocolate Gingerbread

  1. Awww, Patrick is just so cute! I must admit, I believe that everything’s better with chocolate too 🙂

  2. Cute picture! I loved the icing, but I managed to get it in my mouth and not on my face!

  3. Well, well, well… I see someone really enjoyed that cake, huh? LOL
    Very well done, Andrea!

  4. I was torn on the chocolate as well, but ended up really liking it in the end! It looks like you have a happy eater! haha

  5. What a cutie.

    I really loved this recipe.

  6. Nice job…looks like it was a SMASH hit!

  7. hehe i wanted more chocolate too… and i hear ya on the gingerbread=christmas, i was like do i want to make this? so glad i did!

  8. Glad he liked it. Everywhere….. Yous looks yummy!!

  9. That is the cutest photo! Glad this was such a hit at your house.

  10. Aww – nothing like boys with chocolate faces. Too cute.

  11. aww, how cute. looks like he really liked it. 🙂

  12. That is one cute chocolate covered kid! I vote with him for more chocolate all the time on everything three meals a day!

  13. We were split at my house. I voted for chocolate.

Leave a Reply

