TWD- Floating Islands

This weeks Tuesdays With Dorie choice is made by  Shari of Whisk: a food blog.  She chose Floating Islands, on page 401-402 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

img_0159

Floating Islands are a lovely mix of smooth creme anglaise (Matt says just call it custard),  meringue poached in milk topped with strands of crispy caramel.  This is a lovely desert.  My only drama is I may have cooked my caramel too long.  Fab flavour but not happy to form itself into polite strands in the Darwin humidity.

I just tried to upload pictures for this and it wouldn’t work.  This leads me to another tech drama story.  I am currently using my good husbands computer.  This is because all my mac would do is flash a folder with a question mark at me.  I have been told this probably means my hard drive is gone.  Thankfully it is all backed up  (and under warranty)  BUT, I need a computer to house all that data so I am playing the waiting game.

So maybe I will post pictures soon.  Until then I will sigh in the general direction of the expensive gadgets that I dearly love but that have let me down.  In the scheme of things it is not that bad but annoying all the same.

Now go check out the TWD blogroll to see the pretty floating island pictures.

10 responses to “TWD- Floating Islands

  1. Good that everything is backed up but too bad about your technology troubles. Your floating islands look great! Thanks for baking along with me this week!

  2. Mine didn’t want to drizzle nicely either – I got abstract polka dots instead! Yours look yummy though.

  3. Like Caitlin, I got polka dots. Your floating islands look yummy.

  4. Oh man, I hear that Mac sometimes has that problem with the hard drive! A Mac Genius (love that they call them that) says that it is necessary to shut the computer down overnight every few weeks to avoid that. I think the Islands look great, though!

  5. Your islands look gooey & yummy! Great job with this challenge. I loved this one!

  6. I love your caramel — the more the better!

  7. They look really good, tho.

  8. This looks delicious and perfect! Sorry you are having techie problems…reminds me to back up my stuff!

  9. Hey, good luck with your computer. Good to under warranty, whew! I think your caramel looks yummo and your islands too. Great job.
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

