TWD- Devils Food White Out Cake

Stephanie of Confessions of a City Eater chose Devils Food White Out Cake, on page 247-249 of Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

img_0139I was so lucky that this cake and a family birthday party co-incided (Happy Birthday to Gemma).   This cake combines seriously rich devils food cake spiked with shards of chocolate topped with marshmallow frosting.  The combination is a good balance but very sweet.  Perfect party food really.  But I do get a rather serious look on my face when cutting cake!

img_0135I think I liked the look of the cake only half covered in crumbs best but once I started throwing around the crumbs I was committed.

I had a slight change of method for the frosting from Dorie.  I used the cream of tartar in the eggs to protect them from overwhipping.  I wasn’t sure the reason it was used in the sugar solution.

img_0142The good news is my computer is back on deck and I lashed out and got a Canon Ixus 980.  I haven’t had a chance for a really good play yet but I am really happy thus far.

Now go  and check out the TWD blogroll and see the yummy cakes out there.

12 responses to “TWD- Devils Food White Out Cake

  1. We had a birthday as well. I thought the cake was pretty good..my family loved it. Your cake looks great!

  2. Wasn’t it fabulous? I loved this cake, looks like it was enjoyed at your house too 🙂

  3. Your cake looks great! Good job.

  4. What a great birthday cake! I like your photo of the point of no return!

  5. This looks just lovely! Nice work.

  6. Smart of you to use the CofT in the egg whites instead of the syrup. Used in the syrup, it gave it a tart aftertaste.

  7. I love it half-covered! The cake looks great! And that is some determination you have on that cake!

  8. How fun to have this for a birthday party! I hope it was a hit!

  9. Cutting cake is serious business, no time for fooling around! Glad you took the task so seriously!

  10. I absolutely love how swirly your frosting looks – this was just a beautiful frosting to play with. Fantastic job!

  11. that is one gorgeous meringue! a perfect birthday cake!

  12. beautiful frosting. Great job.

Leave a Reply

