TWD- Caramel Crunch Bars

For this weeks TWD bake Whitney of What’s left on the table? chose Caramel Crunch Bars, page 112-113 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

img_0348

Dorie calls for a chocolate coffee shortbread base topped by chopped chocolate melted on top then because for Dorie there is no problem in guilding the lily you top it off with Heath (or in my case Daim) Bar chips.

img_0349

Heath Bars are something I remember from childhood in the States.  Daim bars are the European equivalent.   There really isn’t an Australian candy equivilent.  My Daim bars came from Ikea.  My closest Ikea is about 3000km away.  My mother in law is always mildly amused with how much I jam in my bags when I visit Sydney.

img_0355

I am embarassed by how many of these I felt compelled to eat.  Given my Daim bars were covered in chocolate I think for future reference I would skip the chocolate layer.   Now go and check out the TWD blogroll and follow the trail of cookie crumbs.

13 responses to “TWD- Caramel Crunch Bars

  1. I think gilding the lily is just one of Dorie’s many talents, like putting butter or chocolate in anything 🙂 Your bars look fabulous – much moister than mine.

  2. looks like my kind of cookie , wish i had been there to eat some

  3. Caitlin’s right – yours look soooo much better than mine, but they were still really good.

  4. Your bars look great. I’m going to have to go to Ikea just to get some of these Daim bars. They sound delicious.

  5. Yum! Mine were delicious but very crisp. I ended up using a dark chocolate on the top and they still were all gobbled up. Yours look great!

  6. Your photo has me drooling!!! I actually separated the chocolate from the toffee in my bars. It took FOREVER!

  7. Good substitution for the toffee bits! Your bars look fantastic!

  8. You are so right…she does ‘guild the lily’.

    I used toffee bits that were covered in chocolate and skipped the chocolate layer too. It worked perfectly.

  9. Your bars look fantastic! So moist and yummy! Mine were a little on the crumbly side.

  10. Funny the things you often take for granted that other bakers cannot find. That’s when you wish you knew how to make certain ingredients. Yours still look good.

  11. I ate a scary number of these too — I just couldn’t stop! (Although they would have been even better with milk chocolate, I think.)

  12. your bars look really different from mine, i did think i overbaked though. i was expecting them to look more like yours. these were delicious and i ate way more than i should’ve. 🙂

  13. Daim always reminds me of Ikea! I always stock up too…..nice job.

Leave a Reply

