TWD- Tale of two custards

For this weeks TWD Bridget of The Way the Cookie Crumbles– chose Lemon Cup Custard on page 387 of Baking From My Home To Yours by the fabulous Dorie Greenspan.

This is a simple baked egg custard, spiked with subtle add-ins.   I tried the original lemon and the coffee cinnamon variation.

img_0498

I read the message board before trying this recipe.  It seems for some this just wasn’t their cup of custard.  Something to note are Australians are much keener baked custard eaters than pudding eaters.  I am a big fan of the coffee cinnamon but Matthew (and Liam) were all about the simple lemon cup.

I used an immersion mixer to really squeeze all the lemony goodness out and since it was out, it did a great job of mixing the hot milk into the egg and sugar mixture.

img_0501

A slow bake in a water bath and a rest in the fridge and these were done.

img_0523So go check out the other variations on theme out there on the TWD Blogroll. By the way loving the macro on my new camera.  Still working it all out.  But it is lots of fun.

14 responses to “TWD- Tale of two custards

  1. Your custard looks fantastic. Coffee cinnamon sounds delicious.

  2. Wow, those look perfect. Kudos on making multiple versions!

  3. Getting the hang of the macro feature was a bit difficult for me. But the pictures look great –
    and so does the custard. I wish I had made the coffee version.

  4. I think both of your versions look absolutely delicious!

  5. Great job! Isn’t macro fun? And the coffee cinnamon sounds delicious.

  6. Mmmm… coffee must have been crazy good!
    So nice of you to make different kinds for everyone’s taste!

  7. Hum? did you get my comment or not?

    I was writting I nice I thought you ere for making different flavors for your family having different tastes!

    …and also, how I chould have thought of making some coffee too! I go crazy for coffee flavored things…

  8. Hey! That sentence should have read… HOW NICE I THOUGHT YOU WERE!!! LOL LOL OL LOL

  9. Love the different kinds you made. You are tooo good!!!

  10. I didn’t even look at the recipe, because I knew I wasn’t going to make it, but now that I know there’s a coffee-cinnamon version, I’m very tempted!

  11. Great choices in flavor. I love your pictures.

  12. That coffee-cinnamon version sounds delicious! I made a vanilla- cinnamon version and really enjoyed it. Your pics look great!

  13. Coffee cinnamon sounds great! I skipped this one, but your pictures make it look tempting.

Leave a Reply

