Daring Bakers- Lasagne

The Daring Bakers challenge for this month is lasagne.

img_0669This is a lovely homey dish.  I didn’t count as I put them in but there is 9 very thin layers of homemade spinich pasta with a thin kiss of bechamel  sauce and a seriously good ragu between each layer.  How good?  It beats my previous fav Heston Blumenthals (from In Search of Perfection) hands down.

I did tweak the meats a bit.  I had some slightly freezer burnt pork fillet, regular bacon and kangaroo steaks that I put through the KitchenAid mincer.  Every time I use it it is better value!

img_0661

We make pasta at home fairly often.  I found the spinich pasta needed an extra egg to get the right consistency (maybe I squeezed too much water out of the spinich).  Matthew my good husband quite enjoys rolling out the pasta so I left him to it using the pasta machine.  Note the beer in reach.  Making pasta must be thirsty work!

img_0665

I assembled this as the pasta came off the machine so I skipped the parboil stage.  I did moisten each layer using a spray bottle, and it worked a treat.

img_0667

img_0674This was great fun and gave us a great dinner to share.

For the benefit of the auto checking software:

The March 2009 challenge is hosted by Mary of Beans and Caviar, Melinda of Melbourne Larder and Enza of Io Da Grande. They have chosen Lasagne of Emilia-Romagna from The Splendid Table by Lynne Rossetto Kasper as the challenge.

4 responses to “Daring Bakers- Lasagne

  1. sugarmamabakingco

    This looks DIVINE! I can’t wait to give it a try; I’ve always wanted to make pasta from scratch and I think this recipe just gave me the kick I needed… do you mind if I link to your blog? Thanks! Candace

  2. Christina Viering

    Drinking beer instead of wine while rolling out the pasta?

  3. Kangaroo steaks. Wow!!! That IS really different. And I thought using venison was different. Looks fantastic.

  4. I love that pasta machine. I rolled out mine by hand – boy it was hard work!!

    Apu

Leave a Reply

