TWD- Banana Cream Pie

For this weeks TWD Amy of Sing for Your Supper chose Banana Creme Pie, pages 342 and 343 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

img_0826

This is classic pie given a couple of tweaks.  The custard filling is spiked with spice and brown sugar to give it a caramel feel.  The whipped cream topping is cut with a touch of sour cream.

Instead of the show stopping 9 inch-er I made 6x 4 inch individual serves.  This meant I could have fresh banana cream pie three days in a row!

I have considered adding a little dark rum to this.  I think I am a custard purist but this is nice.

Now go and check out the TWD blogroll and see what other creations our clever group of bakers came up with.

14 responses to “TWD- Banana Cream Pie

  1. Ooooh … that looks good. I thought about doing individual pies or tarts, but ( a ) I couldn’t find my tart pans and ( b ) I wanted to make my first TWD recipe by the book just to see how things worked. I love the pastry cream for this one, so I’m definitely going to play around with it and keep it handy for holiday treats.

  2. Nicely done! Love the little ones 🙂 Mine will be posted tomorrow 🙂

  3. Looks great! Love the mini pies! Thanks for baking with me this week!

  4. The mini pies are soooo cute!!

  5. I made little ones as well – and I think rum would really kick this pie into the stratosphere!

  6. Those are so cute! And delicious!

  7. I did add a little dark rum to mine! Looks cute, I love minis!

  8. oooOOOoooo dark rum would be fabulous in this.

  9. Nice job and great idea making the smaller pie-lets.

  10. Nice job. Love the minis.

  11. Very cute little minis! Rum would be great in this recipe. Good idea!

  12. I think I might like this pie better in the traditional way without spices, but this was fun!

  13. Love your pie-lette! I could see rum being the perfect addition to the pastry cream. Great idea!

  14. Your individual pie is pretty!

Leave a Reply

