TWD- Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

For this weeks TWD Lauren of Upper East Side Chronicle selected Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding,  on pages 410 and 411 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

p4200380

Given Dorie loves to take classics and tweak the edges this is a classic bread and butter pudding (though amazingly given the butter content of most other recipes this one has no butter- but don’t fear there is a cup of cream!) with dark chocolate melted through.

Matt was excited to hear I was making a bread pudding but when he saw the bit about adding chocolate his quote was “why would you do that for?”.  Consequently I made 2 puddings.  One was the straight custard and then I melted the chocolate in the other half.  Happiness all round.

I had a few home made hot cross buns left over from Easter and some bostock (almond cream and brioche) rolls from the weekend.  Both great candidates for the pudding.

This is a nice pudding.  The chocolate works well. Matt is still sold on the ‘plain’ version.

p42003821

I have made a similar version of this recipe that has chunks of dark chocolate (and comes complete with a whiskey sauce).

So now it is time to go and check out the other bread puddings by the happy Dorie Bakers.

8 responses to “TWD- Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

  1. I’m with Matt! 🙂 I was surprised actually. I mean chocolate and bread pudding together – what’s not to like, right? But I just wasn’t into the chocolate part of it, shockingly.

    I should have made 1/2 plain and 1/2 with chocolate. I think I’m gonna try making this again w/out the chocolate and with more of a whiskey/bourbon flavoring!

  2. I am more of a vanilla custard bread pudding gal, but I really liked this, and drizzled with chocolate sauce or cram anglaise it was amazing!

  3. Ooo – whiskey sauce… Now that sounds killer! Lucky Matt, to get his own plain version 🙂 I’ll take the chocolate one though!

  4. I was sold on the warm chocolate. I love the idea of a whiskey sauce. Glad you enjoyed the recipe!

  5. I’m gonna make a butter rum sauce.

  6. Now I have to make whiskey sauce!

  7. I agree with Matt, I like traditional bread pudding better. I did add a little brandy to mine, since it seemed like it could use a little kick and I’m glad I did.

  8. How about a chocolate liquer!! Would that work. But yours looks fantastic – both versions!

Leave a Reply

