Daring Bakers- Cheesecake

The April 2009 challenge is hosted by Jenny from Jenny Bakes. She has chosen Abbey’s Infamous Cheesecake as the challenge.  You can find the recipe at Jenny’s blog.

img_0928

The challenge was to take a basic cheesecake recipe and make it your own.  I had some Darwin limes  (similar to Key limes- they become yellow when ripe and the trees have so many thorns) on the bench and I ended up baking on ANZAC day (a day we remember our soldiers in Australia) so I made my crust using the tradtional ingredients for an ANZAC biscuit.

ANZAC biscuits are made with coconut, oats and golden syrup.  I added that to crushed granita biscuits (a wholemeal biscuit closest to a graham cracker).  I thought about pre baking the crust but just ran with the recipe to see how it went.

img_0938

I made some minis and had a bit of cheesecake mixture left over so I popped them in silicone muffin cups.  I ate one of them just cooled from the oven and to be honest I prefered that one to the very dense product that it morphed into overnight.

Not sure why I didn’t feel the cheesecake love.  The lime flavour was great.  The toasted coconut gave some texture to what became quite a soggy base, it just became too dense, even in my mini format.  That said I enjoyed the playing around with flavours.

Now the Daring Bakers blogroll is a bit of a work in progress at the moment.  They have updated their site and created a new group called the Daring Cooks.  If you want to get in at the ground floor now is your big chance.

6 responses to “Daring Bakers- Cheesecake

  1. i love cheese cake this looks great.
    i love the pics and im gonna make this!
    thanks

  2. Sorry your cheesecake didn’t turn out just right, wondering why. Mine was very light and airy, hmm. Love your crust.

  3. Sorry you weren’t a fan – I love the anzac biscuit crust though!

  4. Your crust looks awesome!

  5. Great idea for the crust. I bet it added a lot of texture and flavor to the over all. Sorry it didn’t come out right for you.

  6. The anzac biscuit crust sounds delicious. Interesting that you liked it more warm than cold! Thanks for being a part of the April Daring Baker’s Challenge!

    Jenny of JennyBakes

Leave a Reply

