TWD- Chocolate Cream Tart

Kim of Scrumptious Photography decided on Chocolate Cream Tart, for this weeks TWD.   The recipe can be found on pages 352 and 353 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

img_0961This is a simple chocolate custard/pastry cream topped with just enough cream to cut the intensity of the chocolate.  Dorie called for a chocolate crust but I had some good for everything pie crust just waiting in the freezer so I couldn’t turn that down.  I didn’t sweeten the cream at all and was well pleased.

The chocolate cream is very rich.  I was looking in the pantry for some morello cherries but I must have used them all when I tackled Heston Blumenthals Black Forest Cake.  Ah well, next time.

This is nice but uber rich.  Glad I made it in the mini form.

Now go and check out the TWD blogroll for the other sweet treats out there.

11 responses to “TWD- Chocolate Cream Tart

  1. I didn’t do the cream, but I did add a wee bit of hazelnut coffee creamer to the mix.

    YUM!

  2. Looks delicious. I think cherries would be a great addition. I know I’m going to have to make this one again.

  3. I agree with how rich, but sure was good. I’m thinking next time to make super mini-chocolate tarts. Two bites is enough.

  4. I made these in minis too… but yours seemed to turn out much better than mine! They look great!

  5. I loved this tart, yours looks delicious!

  6. Minis here too. But they were tasty minis. And yours looks perfect.

  7. What a ingenious idea to transform this into a black forest tart! Yup, I’ll say like you Karen, next time! lol lol

    In the meantime, you have made a pretty darn good looking plain chocolate one! Yeahhhh…

  8. Ooh, look at the lovely cloud of whipped cream! The perfect crown on this delicious dessert.

  9. I love the minis…very cute and just the right size. I also love the way yours oozes out just begging for a spoon, a fork, maybe both!

  10. Looks great. I could easily see not sweetening the whipped cream, but I loved it just the way it was too.

  11. Your tart looks great! I agree – this is REALLY rich. If I make it again I would not use the bittersweet chocolate.

Leave a Reply

