Daring Bakers- Apple Strudel

The May Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Linda of make life sweeter! and Courtney of Coco Cooks. They chose Apple Strudel from the recipe book Kaffeehaus: Exquisite Desserts from the Classic Cafés of Vienna, Budapest and Prague by Rick Rodgers.

P5290278

Sorry this is a couple of days late.  The 3 hours needed to make this just weren’t happening for me either before my holiday to Vietnam or for the week of my return.  That said I am so glad I made this!

The paper thin pastry was really quite simple to make.  I made the dough and then had to attend a work meeting- after 90 minutes rest this almost stretched itself out.  You do have to be very careful around the edges though.  Just like stockings once you get a run you musn’t touch it all, otherwise you just make it worse and worse!

P5290266

I flambed the raisins (in the rum called for) and they smelt so good tossed with the granny smiths and cinamon sugar.  The fresh bread crumbs toasted in butter are lovely and absorbed any of the juice from the apples.

The only thing I would change is more of the pastry.  Most of the studels I had when I lived in Austria 10 years ago had many, many crispy layers.

All in all, a winner.

One response to “Daring Bakers- Apple Strudel

  1. Your strudel looks so tasty! Way to go on the May challenge, you truly are a daring baker 🙂

Leave a Reply

