TWD- Cinnamon Squares

Tracey of Tracey’s Culinary Adventures chose Cinnamon Squares on pages 210 and 211 of Dorie Greenspans Baking From My Home To Yours.

IMG_1618

This is a simple lightly mixed batter heavily scented with cinnamon filled with in case you needed to turn up the volume on the whole spiced cake thing- cinnamon sugar, espresso powder and shards of dark chocolate (and in my case a bit of leftover white chocolate lurking in the fridge) and the topped with more of the cinnamon batter.  Dorie suggests going all out and topping this with a dark chocolate glaze.

Normally I’d skip the glaze but I just happened to have a couple of cups of ganache sitting there on the bench teasing me (I had just made and filled a wedding cake).

This cake is not for the faint of (spice) heart.  In the same way some gingerbread hits you over the head and drags you back to the cave this cake has all the cinnamon subtlty of a brick!

IMG_1620

Thankfully I like cinnamon (a lot) so this will get sliced up and put in work freezer for when I need a treat to go with a cuppa.  My little boys prefer the caramel mudcake floating around as cupcakes (leftover batter from the top tier of the wedding cake- are we noticing a theme here?) and my good husband is off at a conference.

So now go and check out the TWD blogroll and see how the other cinnamon squares turned out.

9 responses to “TWD- Cinnamon Squares

  1. This looks yummy! I love it when I can repurpose things I have on hand and save some work.

  2. Thanks for baking with me this week! You’re right – the cinnamon flavor was intense. I’m glad you enjoyed it!

  3. Cake for cinnamon lovers, that’s for sure! Lucky you to have all those leftover tidbits from the wedding cake!

  4. Lovely! It looks very intense and delicious.

  5. GOOD! …that’s more for you!

    Very well done, Andrea… I’m glad you enjoy loaded flavors! True, it’s hard to miss… but oh! so great!

  6. That is such a great idea that you added in white chocolate!! I wish I had thought of that!! Your cinnamon squares look delicious!!

  7. I just loved this cake.

    Your layer stayed where it should have….mine…well, it sunk like the Titanic.

  8. The closeup picture of your Cinnamon Square is looks soo enticing! The chocolate frosting looks nice and thick on your moist cake!

  9. Looks good! Good idea to keep it in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

