Daring Bakers- Mallow Cookies

The July Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Nicole at Sweet Tooth. She chose Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Cookies and Milan Cookies from pastry chef Gale Gand of the Food Network.

IMG_2507

I am so pleased I found the time to make these cookies.  It is a couple of days past the posting date- life has been very busy, but it is settling down to a dull roar now.

I made the cookie dough in the food processor (so I didn’t have to wash it before making the marshmallow)  That worked a treat.  I also didn’t roll out my dough for slicing, rather just cut it from the log.  Not as perfectly round but the heat here makes butter based doughs a mess in moments.IMG_2501

I don’t recall making marshmallows before.  I have made all sorts of egg whites and sugar syrup concoctions but I don’t think I ever got around to putting some gelatine in.  Anyway they were a snap and I was pleasantly surprised at how easily they piped.  Without going all infomercial on you, can I just say, Tupperwares new piping tool (dishwasher safe) is really rather lovely to use in these kind of applications.

IMG_2503

After I tried one marshmallow I couldn’t help myself- these had to take on a smore’s feel.

IMG_2508

And then because of the whole point of chocolate covered- I went a healthy dollop of chocolate hazelnut spread.  Yum!

IMG_2510

2 responses to “Daring Bakers- Mallow Cookies

  1. Oh awesome! Kudos on the marshmallow making, and I like the s’mores + choc hazelnut spread idea!

  2. MMmmm… These look delicious. That last photo is amazing!!

Leave a Reply

