Daring Cooks- Rice with Mushrooms, Squid and Artichokes

Here are some words from our happy host of this months Daring Cooks (there was no compulsary tag I could find for this months Daring Cooks)

Hi all, this is Olga from Las Cosas de Olga and Olga’s Recipes and I’m pleased to be your host at August Daring Cooks Challenge. I’ve chosen a delicious Spanish recipe, Rice with mushrooms, cuttlefish and artichokes by José Andrés, one of the most important Spanish Chefs at the moment.

The recipe I bring you is from his US TV show Made in Spain.

IMG_2612

This was an interesting recipe.  I used calamari as cuttlefish wasn’t available in my neck of the woods.  My artichokes were from a tin and a bit non special.  All in all I liked it but wouldn’t race out to make exactly this version again.

I tried the tradtional aoli as well.  I stirred and stirred my garlic paste slowly drizzling in olive oil- for 30 minutes and no thick sauce.  I almost gave up and added some vinegar for flavor, and suddenly it all came good.  The flavor (of garlic) was very dominant.

I made a Puglese loaf to go with this and that was rather lovely.

One response to “Daring Cooks- Rice with Mushrooms, Squid and Artichokes

  1. Love how you made bread with this delicious dish. lovely picture and bravo on a recipe done well. Cheers from Audax in Australia

Leave a Reply

