TWD- Applesauce Spice Bars

For this weeks TWD Karen of Something Sweet by Karen picked Applesauce Spice Bars on pages 117 and 118 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

IMG_2732This recipe is very similar to a popular Australian desert- sticky date pudding.  If you replace apples with finely chopped dates then you end up with sticky date pud(ding).  It was interesting to have a riff on an old favorite.

Matt was just sad I didn’t make custard to serve with it.

IMG_2729I loved pouring the molten caramel on top of the cake (poor thing didn’t know what was coming).  I preferred some of the technique from Dories take on this than I have tried before.  All in all a success.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll and see what others thought of the recipe.

4 responses to “TWD- Applesauce Spice Bars

  1. This looks yum – especially your glaze.

  2. I agree, that glaze looks quite decadent! I didn’t get to the glaze, but hope to next time.

  3. i’ve always wanted to make sticky date pudding – i’ve never had it before and it surprised me to read that this recipe is so similar. yours look really good, i love the picture of the glaze about to go on. 🙂

  4. I skipped the glaze I’m beginning to think I shouldn’t have. Yum!

Leave a Reply

