TWD- Creamiest LIme Cream Meringue Pie

For this weeks TWD Linda of Tender Crumb decided on Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie on pages 337-339 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

IMG_2623

My good husband feels very stongly that a lemon or lime meringue pie should have a cooked cornflour based filling.  I spent a good part of my childhood in Florida so the key lime pie made with condensed milk was what I grew up on. This was a good middle path.

This is the first time I have made Dorie’s/Pierre Hermes citrus cream.  I joined just after the lemon and orange cream was made and haven’t done too many rewind recipes.

I followed Dorie’s recipe fairly faithfully- with the exception of making the sugar into a syrup for the meringue.   I also used a blow torch on the meringue but I would happily pop it in the oven for a more crispy meringue.

IMG_2613

The ginger in the lime cream took a day to shine through for us.

Sadly I have never been able to have picture perfect pie slices.  I am willing to move past that as this was very very tasty.

Now go and check out the TWD blogroll for all the other lime meringue pies.

5 responses to “TWD- Creamiest LIme Cream Meringue Pie

  1. Love that shot of the blowtorch on the meringue! I loved this pie!

  2. It looks great! And isn’t any reason to pull out the blow torch a good one?

  3. Looks delicious.

  4. Your pie looks fantastic! Regardless of how your slices looked, it sounds like it was a great delicious success.

    Thank you so much for joining me in the baking fun this week!

  5. Looks and sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

