Daring Bakers- Dobros Torte

The August 2009 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Angela of A Spoonful
of Sugar and Lorraine of Not Quite Nigella. They chose the spectacular Dobos
Torte based on a recipe from Rick Rodgers’ cookbook Kaffeehaus:  Exquisite
Desserts from the Classic Caffés of Vienna, Budapest, and Prague.

IMG_2786

This was a very auspicous time for the recipe.  I had finally moved both Kaffehaus and Deserts By the Yard from my Wish List to my bookshelf.  I had just read about the Dobros Torte in both of these books.  I mean,think about it, vanilla sponge, chocolate buttercream, and caramel- is that not the Holy Trinity of Cake?

IMG_2773Here is my production line for the cakes coming together.

I really, really liked the chocolate buttercream.  To me it was more like chocolate mousse.  The caramel for the topping browned much too quickly.  I wondered if that had anything to do with the amount of lemon juice in the caramel (for the record I wouldn’t use anywhere near as much lemon juice in my caramel again).  Because I didn’t cook my caramel enough it was a little soft.  Nice to eat but I was hoping more for some crunch factor.  Next time.

IMG_2782This was great fun.  I will absolutely make it again.  Thanks for a great pick!

3 responses to “Daring Bakers- Dobros Torte

  1. great description of the buttercream. looks great.

  2. vanilla sponge- yes, chocolate buttercream- yes, caramel/toffee- yes.. yup you’re right, they are the holy trinity. Like yourself, I loved the buttercream, I ate the remaining cream with scraps of sponge, turning into a mini sandwich, it was soo naughty but soo addictive.

  3. Sweet mommy those look good! Miss your TWD this week!

Leave a Reply

