TWD- Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake

For this weeks TWD bake fest Katya of Second Dinner chose Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake on pages 269-272 of Baking From My Home to Yours.

I considered this cake as my pick and had collected the ingredients over time as I had found them.  This is defintely not a spur of the moment treat in Darwin.

The caramel cinnamon chocolate mixture was amazing on its own.  I thought it lost some of it’s magic when the butter was beaten in.  Maybe that’s just me.

The cake component of this is very good.  The brown sugar works well with the chestnut.  I could only find tinned chestnuts and they were a little less than perfect for adornment purposes.  So I gave that a miss.

The glaze to finish looked pretty (for the 30 seconds before it became a puddle again in 95F heat) but really did push this towards the path of too much being enough.

Generally I scoff at people who complain things are too rich.  This cake however almost toppled me over that edge.

Even my faithful testing panel of ravenous sons were pulled up.

That said I liked it- a lot.  It was complex and interesting.  I am a big fan of chestnut and this was a nice way of putting it together.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll and see what our other happy bakers have been up to

 

 

6 responses to “TWD- Chocolate Caramel Chestnut Cake

  1. Looks great! I opted out of this particular recipe this month, made the other three. maybe another day!

  2. I don’t know if I have ever eaten a chestnut. The cake looks tasty and the ganache sounds so fabulous. But I just don’t’ think I am going to get to this one this month.

  3. I have plans in the works to try this one out, but I’m a little nervous…I’m not sure how I feel about chestnuts, having never really eaten them again. But if the flavor is great in this cake (even though over the top) I guess I’ll have to give it a try.

  4. Yum looks really moist and delicious. Im glad you liked it!

  5. Looks fantastic!!! Awesome job

  6. I really liked this cake too. It was almost too rich, but I just cut smaller than normal pieces. 🙂

Leave a Reply

