TWD- Sables

For this weeks TWD- Barbara of Bungalow Barbara– picked Sablés, recipe to be found on pages 131-133,  Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

Sables are a lovely form of shortbread.  The dough is quick and easy (I made mine while getting the kids ready for school).  The cultured butter I used made these very tasty indeed.  I have never had much luck with getting the sugar to look pretty on the edges but these are worth perservering with.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll and check out all the sables out there.

9 responses to “TWD- Sables

  1. I have mine chilling in the fridge right now! Can’t wait to bake them 🙂 Yours look great 🙂

  2. Your sables look terrific! I had problems with the sugar, too, but they seemed to disappear in spite of their homely appearance.

  3. You went all the way! I never buy cultured butter, but I bet it made them that much tastier.

  4. Thanks for baking with me this week! Cultured butter, oooh, sounds wonderful.

  5. Have never tried cultured butter but this seems like a good recipe for it since butter is the star of the show.

  6. Um, I don’t think I’ve ever heard of cultured butter. Obviously, I need to get out more. :o) The cookie looks delish!

  7. Beautiful cookies! The cultured butter sounds great!

  8. Your cookies look great. I haven’t heard of cultured butter either…may have to look for it and try these. They were delicious no matter what butter you use I guess.

  9. Ooo. Cultured butter, what a great way to add a little more flavour. Well done!

Leave a Reply

