TWD- My Favourite Pecan Pie (catch up)

This is a catch up for last weeks TWD-

Beth of Someone’s in the Kitchen with Brina-picked  My Favorite Pecan Pie, page 327 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

Dorie takes a classic pecan pie and adds in some coffee and bittersweet chocolate (I love a recipe that seeks balance).  I am a big big fan of this pie.  The only downers- even in half size (7 inch spring form) this took longer to set than suggested and as you may see from the photo still wasn’t 100% set in the end.  I also have to say my crust was a bit thick for my preference.  It is wicked hard to make pie crust in Darwin right now.  Even with the a/c going the heat and humidity are a challenge.  Rather than cry, I accept chunky crusts for now and look forward to our dry season when it gets a little easier.

So I am a fan.  Just as well as seem to be the only pecan pie fan in my family and thus are ‘forced’ to eat it all by myself.  The sacrifices we make…

Now go and check the TWD blogroll and see what the other bakers (who may have been organised enough to post on time…) thought of this yummy pie.

Leave a Reply

