TWD- Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte (Catch Up)

Back in October 27 2009– April of Short + Rose decided on Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte, pages 284-285 Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I fell behind in my baking obligations last September.  I took a week off to go to Planet Cake which was amazing and then my grandmother passed away.  I went overseas for a couple of weeks and returned to get a nasty ear infection and suddenly I had ‘lost’ almost a month of my life.  Then I needed to catch up on all the stuff that got put on hold.

At the end of that I kind of lost my baking mojo.  I fell behind- but here’s the thing.  I really, really like the idea of baking absolutely everything from a cookbook.   I think I may only do it once so I really want to keep rolling with it.  Also, I think it is a big deal for the person who picks the recipe, to not bake along takes away from the group hug vibe that is TWD.

Anyway, back on track now and catching up on recipes I missed.  The Cherry Fudge Brownie is a take on Black Forest Cake.

I have been searching for dried cherries (which used to be stocked at my local store but now is sadly no longer) for a while now.  In the end I decided to used drained morello cherries and skip the rehydrating and flambe stage of the recipe.  This worked very well.  The cake is dense and fudgey studded with cherries and dark chocolate chunks

I thought about skipping the triad of dairy topping (cream cheese, marscapone and cream touched with a hint of sugar and vanilla) but thankfully I just went with it.  It does really work with this cake.

This really is a special occasion cake.  It comes together quickly but it is dense in texture and flavours.

One response to “TWD- Cherry-Fudge Brownie Torte (Catch Up)

  1. These look yummy. I hope 2010 is an awesome year for you. Sorry to hear about your grandma. I know what you mean about losing your baking mojo too. Take care and Happy New Year!!! – mary the food librarian

Leave a Reply

