TWD- Allspice Crumb Muffins- Catch Up

Back on October 13– Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Allspice Crumb Muffins, pages 16-17.  In January Andrea finally got around to making them!

These are lovely and simple.  I made them for New Years breakfast.  I made the strudel topping (ever so good) and measured out the dry ingredients the night before.  Then I just had to melt butter, crack eggs and measure milk and we were on our way.

I did wonder if buttermilk would make these lighter so I split the recipe to experiment.  In the end- no real difference in the muffins.  I think the buttermilk ones rose a tiny bit more but the crumb was almost identical.  It was fun to engage in a little kitchen chemistry.

Leave a Reply

