TWD- Mrs Vogel’s Scherben

January 12, 2010– Teanna of Spork or Foon? selected Mrs. Vogel’s Scherben, from Baking From My Home To Yours pages 157-159 by Dorie Greenspan.

Scherben is paper thin dough deep fried and dredged in cinnamon sugar then given a dusting of icing sugar.

Mine went so fast the boys were just a blur.

I have been wanting to make Canoli (filled with thick custard) and I think this may finally be the dough to work.  I will give it a red hot go sometime soon.  Now go and check the blog roll for the other lovely cookies out there.

8 responses to “TWD- Mrs Vogel’s Scherben

  1. They look fantastic (and I can tell they tasted great, too, by looking at your boys!)

  2. My boys devoured these too. I made both baked and fried, threw the baked away and enjoyed the fried ones 😉

  3. Great shot of the boys devouring them! Picture 9 children diving into mine–it was too crowded to get a picture. I just got a cookie and got out of there! Good idea for the cannoli–this dough was really easy to work with.

  4. I’m glad the boys enjoyed it and I hope the cannoli are successful! Great job! Thanks so much for frying along with me this week!

  5. I didn’t make this one this week, but I’m happy to see that they are kid approved! Cute picture.

  6. looks like they loved them! way to go!

  7. How funny, I thought I would use my cannoli dough to make the Scherben, since it has more flavor. Your cookies look perfect.
    Mimi

  8. You were the hero of the day with those crispy little scherbens. Your little boys look like they are loving them!

Leave a Reply

