Daring Bakers- Namaimo Bars

The January 2010 Daring Bakers’ challenge was hosted by Lauren of Celiac Teen. Lauren chose Gluten-Free Graham Wafers and Nanaimo Bars as the challenge for the month. The sources she based her recipe on are 101 Cookbooks and www.nanaimo.ca.

So for Australia Day (26th of January) I made the Namaimo Bars.  From the bottom up they are a Hedgehog type base with home made gluten free graham crackers, coconut and almonds in a chocolate custard.  The next layer is essentially a vanilla icing.  Then it gets topped with melted dark chocolate.

The graham crackers were actually my favourite part of this recipe.  I ended up liking this recipe a lot more than the all purpose flour recipes I have tried before.  I needed to use millet flour as sorgham flour just wasn’t available in my neck of the woods.

For my tastes the middle layer was just too sweet.  I have wondered is a more custard like filling would be my cup of tea.  Also I am going to try some of this crumbled through home made ice cream.

It was interesting to play around with new flours.  I think even if a recipe isn’t to your taste you can almost always learn something from it.  Isn’t that the joy of the Daring Bakers?

4 responses to “Daring Bakers- Namaimo Bars

  1. Looks pretty delicious to me 🙂

  2. We loved the graham cracker, I made mine with whole wheat pastry flour. Nanaimo bars were delicious.
    Mimi

  3. The graham crackers were definitely my favourite part of the recipe. Glad you liked them too! I made a pastry cream base for the filling, so it was still custardy but not as sweet.

  4. Enjoyed these a lot more frozen the next day.

Leave a Reply

