TWD- Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia

February 9, 2010– Tanya of Chocolatechic chose Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia, on page 91 of Baking From My Home to Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I am so glad I had a squiz at the P & Q for this recipe before I dove right in.  I was on my second last bar of unsweetened chocolate and I have to make it count!  Baking chocolate just isn’t sold here (commonly) in Australia.  I bought some in Singapore 1 1/2  years ago and it has lived in my fridge since then.

I think these lovely brownies are closer to a lava cake, and I am so glad I baked them in individual financers shapes.  I am all about the crust with a brownie and individual serves means I don’t hack off the edges and leave the rest for others with less baking prowess.  And I could see the middle bits would not have sliced neatly.

Well that is until they chilled up in the fridge.  Check out the texture change

Anyway, they are darn tasty.  Now check out the blogroll for the other bits of chocolate goodness.

6 responses to “TWD- Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia

  1. Next time you need unsweetened chocolate, let one of us know. We’ll be glad to send it! Nice brownies!

  2. I felt the same way about these brownies. They are Lava Cakes in disguise.

    Love your pics!

  3. Lava cake indeed – which could only be improved with the addition of ice cream!

  4. A lot of bakers had ooey gooey brownies. Yours look delicious! I loved these. Ditto on the offer to send chocolate…just ask! 🙂

  5. Sounds like you enjoyed them. That gooey picture is making me wish I had some more.

Leave a Reply

