TWD- My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 16, 2010– Kait of Kait’s Plate selected My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies, on page 68 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

When I think about the one thing that I have been most changed by in the almost 2 years of TWD it is simply use decent chocolate for your choc chips.  I can’t believe it took me so long to see the true path of chocolate satisfaction.

This is a really good recipe for chocolate chip cookies.  I like mine a touch more on the chewy side (and so I maintain faithfulness to the King Arthurs chewy recipe- for now).  But these are good.  I also ran with the idea to increase the salt ever so slightly.  Makes the milk taste even sweeter and balances the rather rich and bitter dark chocolate.

Chocolate Chip cookies are one of my favourite things to bake and eat.  I am pleased my boys are old enough to enjoy the walnut-y goodness.  We went through a nut free stage for a while not due to allergies or health concerns but for ‘please stop throwing mummy’s favourite foods across the table because you don’t like the nuts’ reasons.  I bake to share, so the kids not liking it kind of spoiled it for me.

Anyway, this was great.  more cookies next week (love the cookies, baby).  Lick the chocolate from your fingers and go and check the blogroll.

6 responses to “TWD- My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Your cookies turned out great! Mine were too flat.

  2. they look great! sounds like you really enjoyed them 🙂 I thought the flavor was fantastic in these, just not crazy about how flat they were, i like them puffy and chewy 🙂

  3. They look great! Mine were flatter, but still delicious.

  4. They look yummy! I could eat chocolate chip cookies all day long!

  5. I never thought to add a touch more salt for balancing chocolate flavor. Your photo of the CCC’s look perfect and delicious. I am currently hooked on Alton Brownies “chewy” CCC recipe found at foodnetwork. =)

  6. Your cookies look terrific! I think using good hand chopped chocolate makes a huge difference.

Leave a Reply

