TWD- Quick Classic Berry Tart

May 11, 2010- Cristine of Cooking with Cristine picked Quick Classic Berry Tart on page 377 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I WANTED berries yet, it is so not berry season in Darwin (actually almost all fresh berries are shipped in and frankly are mouldy by the time they get here regardless of season) so I used frozen raspberries.  I took the photo before they began to sweat and leak out some of their berry goodness on the pastry cream.

This was lovely and quick to assemble.  I made the tart dough and pastry cream as soon as I got home from work and by the time dinner was prepped I was ready to pop the tart shell in the oven.  By the time the tart shell was cool, so was the pastry cream and we were good to go.

Matt likes plain custard tarts so he carefully scooped off his berries and donated them to me.  It was a sacrifice I was willing to make.

Now go and check the TWD blogroll for other berry tart goodness.

2 responses to “TWD- Quick Classic Berry Tart

  1. Loved this!! Too bad you can’t get fresh berries over there, it’s berries galore here at the market at the moment!!

  2. Mmm–raspberries are my favourite, but one of my guests doesn’t like them, so I used blackberries and mangoes instead. I really enjoyed this tart too! Post won’t be up for another couple of hours, but I’m enjoying looking at those in earlier time zones!

Leave a Reply

