TWD- Tender Shortcakes

June 8, 2010– Cathy of The Tortefeasor chose Tender Shortcakes on page 423 from Baking From My Home To Yours by the talented Ms Greenspan.

Essentially these are slightly sweetend biscuits filled with fruit and whipped cream.  At my son’s after school care one of the carers has a deep love of 80’s cartoons and has been showing the children the original series of Strawberry Shortcake.  I was amazed of Liams product knowledge.  Anyway, he was excited to get to eat Strawberry Shortcakes- which isn’t a popular dessert here in Australia.  Here we are more likely to split the biscuit and fill with jam and cream rather than fresh fruit.

These were yummy and living up to their name rather tender (read fragile).

I am glad I made the half batch as my punnet of strawberries although very juicy was $6.

Now go and check out the TWD blogroll.

2 responses to “TWD- Tender Shortcakes

  1. I think this is one dessert that should convert over to Australia – yours looks wonderful!

  2. I think it looks wonderful–hopefully it was worth it!

Leave a Reply

