TWD- Raisin Swirl Bread

June 152010– Susan of Food.Baby picked Raisin Swirl Bread on pages 59 and 60 from Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

This afternoon I decided to take the boys to the park.  My oven was preheated and my hubby was staying home doing some tidying around the house.  I gave him the instructions verabaly, left the cookbook open to the relevant pages and went on my way.

So, Matt took the bread out of the oven after 20 minutes.  It was, thanks to the tablespoon of butter on the crust, golden brown.  I turned it out on my return and without the support of the tin my bread was doing it’s best Persistence of Memory impersonation.  So back in the tin and 30 minutes later and it was done.

I did think that this recipe may have had a couple of (un-neccesary extra steps thrown in- I did it as written to see if it was a change for the better, but maybe not.

But aside from some minor challenges- this was a yummy bread.  I managed to get a few tidy looking slices.  Bread really is quite forgiving.  Now go and check the blogroll and see how everyone else went.

10 responses to “TWD- Raisin Swirl Bread

  1. How funny! Good thing you could get it back in the pan and finish the baking!

  2. Persistence of memory? Gotta remember that one. LOL Glad you got some good slices.

  3. You are so brave, I have a hard time leaving my husband in charge of my baking, it makes me nervous.
    Your bread looks so good!

  4. How wonderful that your hubbie was so willing to help.

    Mine is just willing to eat.

  5. i completely agree that bread is forgiving. that’s why i prefer it to pastry! 🙂

  6. Your loaf looks wonderful!

  7. Bread is forgiving and your loaf turned out beautifully! We have had like instances in our kitchen so hubby just asks for specific directions or calls for me to come running if he hears the timer go off. Always grateful he still likes to help =)

  8. Love it when the hubby helps! 🙂 Your slices look like there was no harm done.

  9. Ciao ! It is hard to tell for my husband wheather a bread is done !! I skipped the butter and sugar from in and out

  10. Pingback: TWD- Apple-Apple Bread Pudding « Andrea In The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

