TWD- Tarte Noire

July 6, 2010– Dharmagirl of bliss: towards a delicious life chose Tarte Noire on page 351.

I really thought about making the chocolate crust, but I found a perfect disc of sweet nut dough just waiting for me in the freezer.  I used Green and Blacks Maya Gold chocolate which has really subtle hints of orange, cinnamon, nutmeg and vanilla.  I had hidden the bar in the back of the fridge to stop me from inhaling it a while ago so it made a perfect offering to this simple and delicious tarte.

Even after a couple of hours in the fridge mine hadn’t really set up.  Room temp here in Darwin is still 30C even in our cooler season.

And so what did my tasting panel think?Patrick thinks eating anything with chocolate is a full body contact sport.

In sad news I noticed the crack of doom on my beloved 6 inch pie dish.  I bought it about 17 years ago when I was setting up house with Matthew.  It has survived many adventures and moves but now, it is time to make new memories.  The only real danger is letting myself into a cooking supply store.

Now go and check out the other black pies (as my good husband called it front of the kids and now that is how they refer to it.).

One response to “TWD- Tarte Noire

  1. A disc of tart dough is always a welcome discovery! I think that face is the vote of approval! Sorry about your pie dish but trips to the cooking supply store can be great fun.

Leave a Reply

