TWD-Lot’s of Ways of Banana Cake

July 20, 2010– Kimberly of Only Creative Opportunities decided on Lot’s of Ways of Banana Cake on pages 204 and 205 from Baking From My Home to Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

I am so pleased I learned to freeze bananas that were too soft to eat but were full of flavour.  My freezer gets filled with zip lock baggies of the fruit from when the boys turn from 4 bananas each a day machines to “I don’t lie bananas – they are yucky” little monsters.

So anyway, I almost always have a stash of bananas in the freezer just awaiting such an occasion.

This is a lovely moist cake.  Patrick doused his in sticky toffee sauce and I suppose it could work as a replacement for sticky date pudding.  I stayed true to the base recipe save for using buttermilk instead of coconut milk (just because I had buttermilk open and not coconut milk).

Time to check out the other Dorie bakers to see what direction they took their cakes.

3 responses to “TWD-Lot’s of Ways of Banana Cake

  1. My almost 4 year old is the same way with bananas!! Drives me crazy. The cake looks great, hope you enjoyed it!

  2. Delicious looking banana cake! I learned to freeze bananas too along with egg whites in ice cube trays for later use. Love those little tidbits learned along the way.

  3. Looks moist and delicious.

    Bananas tend to breed in my freezer. Guess I will HAVE to make this one again.

Leave a Reply

