TWD- All American, All Delicious Apple Pie (Catch Up)

Back on October 26, 2010– Emily of Sandmuffin chose All-American, All-Delicious Apple Pie on pages 300-302 from  Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

Now before we tackle this lovely pie I thought I would mention a few things going on for me right now.

1. I moved house again.  Finally in ‘our’ house.  A custom built new home with a great kitchen and a walk in pantry (as well as a few other fab features).

2. I am 24 weeks pregnant.  Some women have glowing trouble free pregnancies.  I throw up, the whole way through.  Only 16 more weeks of that to go, though!  Thankfully, I am blessed with heaps of happy hormones that keep me fairly cheerful while leaning over the toilet bowl.  But there have been times I have been too unwell to play domestic goddess.

Anyway, it has been more of challenge to keep up with everything as I keep working and have the 2 boys to shower with lots of love.

So I caught up with some of the pies from the recent TWD roster for Thanksgiving here.  My family still celebrates it although there is no public holiday.  For logistics we tend to celebrate on the weekend.  I will post the pies all separately but they made up the dessert spread.

I had to work on the Sunday until 4 so I did all my prep the night before so all I had to do was assemble.  I got cracking at 8am- by 11am the house smelt great and I was all done.

The apple pie was lovely.  I think the apples I had didn’t let off enough juice to require the tapioca.  We also don’t have quick cook tapioca here, so I used some tiny tapioca pearls from the Asian Emporium.  The boys thought I had decorated the pie with hundreds and thousands.  The tapioca pearls came in pink, green and white.

What struck me was the butter flavour really soaked into the apple.  I have never used butter as part of the filling and I rather liked it.  The spices were subtle and overall it was a winner.

Thanks for a great pick.

 

One response to “TWD- All American, All Delicious Apple Pie (Catch Up)

  1. Okay, now I’m going to have to hunt down coloured tapioca pearls. Your pie looks great. Congrats on your good news and only 16 more weeks of nausea!

Leave a Reply

