TWD- Mullberry Shortbread Cake

November 9 – Jessica of Singleton in the Kitchen chose Not-Just-for Thanksgiving Cranberry Shortbread cake on pages 208-209 from Baking From My Home To Yours By Dorie Greenspan.

I had just made a berry jam for the first time in my life (I live in a place where berries just don’t thrive and are very expensive to buy).  A very kind friend of my brothers – who now is a friend of mine (lucky me) brought me about 7 lbs of fresh from their backyard mulberries.  I made pie, I made jam, the boys ate fresh berries until they thought their tummies would explode and their tongues would be forever purple, and I froze another pound to enjoy later.  So there is my roundabout way of saying why my cake has a mulberry filling.

My jam wasn’t quite jammy enough but I was happy.  Liam however got teased at school for having a bleeding sandwich (and he is a sensitive soul), so we will have to save the jam for home for now.

This is essentially a couple of sugar cookies with a jam filling.  I might have preferred it all to be a little less sweet and the cranberry jam would have done that.  My crust was nice and flaky.

All in all interesting but not on my top 10 all time Dorie hit’s list.

Leave a Reply

