TWD- Caramel Pumpkin Pie (Catch up)

Back on October 19, 2010– Janell of Mortensen Family Memoirs picked Caramel Pumpkin Pie on pages 322 and 323 of Baking From My Home To Yours by Dorie Greenspan.

I got as far as spying a pumpkin on my brothers bench whilst he was on holidays and nabbing it back when this recipe was chosen.  I even cooked it up and mashed it.  Then, well, time started to pass.  Thankfully, I had the presence of mind to freeze my pumpkin puree.  Enough time passed that I moved with my containers of pumpkin puree and decided to make the pie for Thanksgiving.

I liked the caramel and rum in this pie.  Interesting to see how prepping your ingredients differently gives such a different result.  The proportion of the sugar and dairy are similar to other recipes but cooking the sugar to caramel added a lot.

Leave a Reply

